Every time a new season approaches I’m caught a bit by surprise. One moment a new season is starting and the next it is ending. The positive thing is that there are always going to be new shows to enjoy. We just have to look for them. At least there are going to be a fair number of good shows carrying over into summer. While the fifth season of Boku no Hero Academia hasn’t been amazing as of yet I’m hopeful that the second half will pick things up. We’ll also get some good carryovers in the new Shaman King and Fumetsu no Anata e.

I honestly didn’t expect that my favorite series from spring was going to be SSSS.Dynazenon. While I had high hopes for it, there was no telling if it would live up to them. And it went well beyond that to really impress me the whole way through. It was also thanks to shows like How Not to Summon a Demon Lord Ω, Ijiranaide, Nagatoro-san, and a few others that spring still ended up a pretty great season overall for me. Fingers crossed that the shows that are ending will be more than adequately replaced by what is coming up next.

As always the preview will be referring to information listed on LiveChart and AniChart. This certainly won’t be a comprehensive preview of what is coming up. It will just be a list of the shows I’m interested in. As always everyone can feel free to talk about the shows they are hyped about even if I don’t mention them here. And there will definitely be shows I don’t know that much about their source material so any discussion on what can be expected there (minus spoilers) sounds good to me.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. Odds are that is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. If these don’t turn out to be good that will be rather disappointing.

Kobayashi-san Chi no Maidragon S

  • Air Date: 8 Jul 2021
  • Studio: Kyoto Animation
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The wacky Dragon Maid is back again! A strange turn of events leads the Dragon, Tohru, to work as Miss Kobayashi's maid. She occasionally (that's a lie, she often) causes trouble for her beloved Miss Kobayashi while blending into human society... Her fellow dragons, Kanna, Lucoa, Fafnir, and Elma all find their own places to fit in as well... Yet while they're all enjoying that laid-back and occasionally turbulent left, the threat of a new Dragon swoops down upon Miss Kobayashi.

There’s no show I could put above this one. A sequel to Kobayashi-san would have been hyped under normal circumstances. But this feels all the more special considering the tragic events that struck Kyoto Animation. The short we got in spring was nice, but I’m really going to enjoy another season of this. Another season of Tohru’s antics, Kanna’s cuteness, and Kobayashi’s responsibility will make it something I can’t see myself disliking. Obviously the show has to also be good, but I’m really happy that this show is happening at all.

Tantei wa mou, Shindeiru

  • Air Date: 4 Jul 2021
  • Studio: ENGI
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The story follows Kimihiko Kimizuka, a young man who four years ago became the assistant of a mysterious detective known as "Siesta" on a hijacked airplane. Together, Kimihiko and Siesta went on mind-boggling, globe-trotting adventures while combatting a secret organization, but all of that came to an end when they were separated by Siesta's death. In the present day, Kimihiko tries to return to an ordinary, boring life as a high school student, but things are never that simple...

This show had me really intrigued in part because I’m not sure what is going to happen here. The main character met a detective, they went on some adventures, she died, the guy went back to normal life, and then the story begins? Is this mostly going to be flashbacks to before her death? But the summary seems to imply that things are going to start from here. So is she not dead? Coming back as a ghost/zombie? The pv looked pretty fantastic and over the top so I’m not really sure what to expect. But again the summary still sounds interesting and the trailer looked strong. Something about this really has me wanting to see where it goes.

Boku no Hero Academia the Movie: World Heroes' Mission

  • Air Date: 6 Aug 2021
  • Studio: BONES
  • Episodes: 1
  • Blogging? Maybe

The third installment in the Boku no Hero Academia movie franchise - Deku will be wanted by authorities for mass murder. The narration on the teaser states, "the time limit until the world destruction crisis is two hours."

I’m not usually one to talk about movies, but we are getting a few this summer that I am pretty excited about. And there won’t be any good time to talk about them in a preview context anyways. So even though we probably won’t see this movie until late 2021 or early 2022 let’s at least acknowledge this. The first movie they made was just fine, but nothing special. The second movie we got was actually pretty good and I had a blast watching it. Some nostalgia there since it was one of the last movies I saw in theaters. But the context for this one sounds good, I like that Todoroki is joining Bakugou and Deku in the spotlight (considering how the main anime is handling things) and the action should be top notch. If the main series is stumbling a bit at least the movies are exciting.

Fate/Grand Order: Shuukyoku Tokuiten

  • Air Date: 29 Jul 2021
  • Studio: CloverWorks
  • Episodes: 1
  • Blogging? Yes

A.D. 2017 The last era in which Magecraft still existed. Society was created by human hands, but Mages grasped the truth of the world. Magecraft is comprised of techniques from past humans that cannot be explained by science, while science encompasses the techniques of future humans that Magecraft cannot achieve. Researchers and scholars of both Magecraft and science have been gathered to maintain human civilization under the Chaldea Security Organization...

There really are some awesome movies being released this summer. This movie is following directly from the Babylonia anime we got and it looks fantastic. I wouldn’t have minded a short series to really delve into everything possible, but this can work well as a movie too. This is going to absolutely be for fans of the Fate/Grand Order franchise, but if done well it should deliver in spectacular fashion. The action should be great and I’m really hoping they can make the most of whatever runtime this thing has. Fingers crossed that they can let as many potential characters shine as possible. It might be tempting to limit the cast a bit to focus on the main characters, but I hope they don’t go too far in that direction.

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya: Licht

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2021
  • Studio: SILVER LINK
  • Episodes: 1
  • Blogging? Yes

Sequel to Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 3rei!! - Waking up to find herself in a parallel version of Fuyuki City, Illyasviel "Illya" von Einzbern is lost and alone. She discovers her home in ruins, with a massive crater lying in the center of her hometown. With snow falling in the middle of summer, confusion consumes the young elementary schooler, who has no knowledge of where her friends or her wand Ruby may be.

And so we continue the train of movies that I’m really excited about. This is the first return for the Fate/Kaleid franchise since the Vow in the Snow movie in 2017 and Prisma☆Phantasm in 2019. And really it is the first continuation of the main story of Prisma Illya since 3rei aired in 2016. That’s how it goes though when an anime catches right up with the source material. It takes a long time to build up enough room to do anything else. And the manga isn’t done yet so this movie can’t possibly wrap everything up. But it should allow us to continue a fair distance. That they decided to do a movie shows how much material they have to work with.

But this is probably for the best. Silver Link really suffered in 3rei trying to handle everything in a weekly series. I know this franchise is pretty hit or miss for people. But I really think this movie should be amazing and hopefully I’ll be able to see it sometime in 2021. This part of the story is when Fate/Kaleid gets as close to a pure Fate franchise as it can while still having magical girl elements.

Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu

  • Air Date: 7 Jul 2021
  • Studio: C2C
  • Episodes: 12
  • Blogging? Maybe

Makoto Misumi was just an ordinary high school student when he, due to certain circumstances his parents were facing, gets summoned to the other world to become a "hero." The goddess of the other world, however, insults him for his "ugly face" and strips his "hero" title, before casting him off to the wilderness at the edge of the world. As he wanders the wilderness, Makoto encounters dragons, spiders, orcs, dwarves, and all sorts of non-human tribes.

This is one of those shows where I have read some of the manga. So I’ve got an idea of what to expect here. But honestly I like the premise of it. Main character gets summoned and brought to this world only for the goddess to toss him based on appearances. It won’t be the first isekai situation where protagonist befriends non-human characters. But I do expect this to be a fun show with a likable lead. His allies will be a true joy as well. This is one of those shows where I don’t want to comment too much and risk spoiling it. It should be one of the better isekai series of the year.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise.

Otome Game no Hametsu Flag S2

  • Air Date: 3 Jul 2021
  • Studio: SILVER LINK
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The second season of Otome Game no Hametsu Flag….Most people would prefer being the protagonist of a world full of adventure, be it in a game or in another world. But, unfortunately, a certain girl is not so lucky. Regaining the memories of her past life, she realizes that she was reborn in the world of Fortune Lover—one of the games she used to play. Unfortunately, the character she was reincarnated into—Katarina Claes—is the game's main antagonist...

I won’t say the first season blew me away, but I did enjoy it overall. Obviously the main character was one heck of a dense harem protagonist. In her efforts to avoid doom she basically seduced just about everyone. Still, the show had some good comedic moments and for that reason I’m definitely going to check out the next season. Hopefully it continues what the first season did well and improves in a few areas. I know plenty are really looking forward to this one. But it’s more in the middle of the pack for me.

Kanojo mo Kanojo

  • Air Date: 3 Jul 2021
  • Studio: Tezuka Productions
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Naoya Mukai has loved Saki Saki since grade school, and when she finally accepts his feelings, he's at his happiest. But one day, a cute girl named Nagisa Minase confesses to him! Not wishing to choose only one over another, Naoya chooses to go out with both of them!! What will be of this love triangle that challenges morality itself?

This is certainly one of the more unusual harem situations I’ve seen for an anime. I do remember checking out a couple chapters of the manga but didn’t really keep up with it. But that’s not a huge hit against the series since there’s only a few manga I’ve actively kept up with over the years. Obviously the key factor here is how well the comedy is going to hit. Because you can’t really play this kind of thing too seriously without it falling apart. Certainly the summary makes the protagonist out to be…something. He aims for this one girl, she accepts his feelings, and yet the confession from someone else shakes him to his core and he can’t pick one over the other? This could be really good or really bad and I’m curious to see which it will be.

Genjitsu Shugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki

  • Air Date: 4 Jul 2021
  • Studio: J.C. Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

“O, Hero!" With that cliched line, Kazuya Souma found himself summoned to another world and his adventure--did not begin. After he presents his plan to strengthen the country economically and militarily, the king cedes the throne to him and Souma finds himself saddled with ruling the nation! What's more, he's betrothed to the king's daughter now...?! In order to get the country back on its feet, Souma calls the wise, the talented, and the gifted to his side.

Another isekai harem up to bat and this one seems pretty solid. The preview definitely painted it as a fairly enjoyable show and it seems as if J.C. Staff are going to do a solid job here. Not a bad move to have the protagonist summoned as a hero and then just immediately being made into a King instead. I’m curious about the state of that world since they did summon a hero for a reason. Though certainly creating a powerful nation can be more useful than just putting together a powerful hero depending on how they take care of it. Curious to see how this realist handles things and how serious they will actually choose to get with this story.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Sotsu

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2021
  • Studio: Passione
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Sequel to Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Gou. - Rika Furude and her group of friends live in the small mountain village of Hinamizawa; in June 1983, they welcome transfer student Keiichi Maebara into their ranks, making him the only boy in their group. After school, they have fun playing games and spending each day living their lives to the fullest. Despite this seemingly normal routine, Keiichi begins noticing strange behavior from his friends, who seem to be hiding the town's dark secrets from him.

Honestly I never expected a Higurashi series would end up in my moderate section, but here we are. Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Gou was a ride to put it lightly. A series that first portrayed itself as a remake turned into a sequel. And one of the main characters from that original series turned into an absolute villain. And now we are set for the final part of this story which will try to wrap this up in some kind of satisfactory way. This series has had a lot of issues from my point of view. The art style that Passione went with hasn’t worked for me at all. But it is what it is. This series will either turn into a decent entry into the Higurashi franchise or actually drop the overall franchise out of my all-time top 10. Will I cover it? I really don’t know.

Bokutachi no Remake

  • Air Date: 3 Jul 2021
  • Studio: feel
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Hashiba Kyouya is a 28 year old game developer. With his company going bankrupt, and him losing his job, he returns to his hometown. Looking at the success of creators of his age, he finds himself regretting his life decisions as he lay distressed on his bed. But when he opens his eyes, he finds that he has travelled 10 years back to the time before he entered college. Will he finally make things right? This is a story about a failed person who is given a second opportunity to follow his dreams.

It feels like time traveling series are making a comeback. I feel like the summary is really harsh here. Honestly the guy’s life doesn’t sound that horrible. The company he was part of went under, he felt envious about others being more successful and then…time travel. Calling him a failed person seems a bit harsh. I mean if the universe wants to give him a do-over that’s fine. Although I’d love to warn the character that just because he does a few things differently doesn’t mean he’ll never have regrets. Hopefully the guy can try different things, probably build a harem, and hopefully make decisions he can live with.

Seirei Gensouki

  • Air Date: 6 Jul 2021
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Meet Rio: a callous orphaned boy living in the slums. At only 7-years-old, he realizes he’s actually the reincarnation of Haruto Amakawa, a Japanese university student with a tragic past. While still reeling from this shocking epiphany, Rio also comes to learn that he possesses extremely potent magical abilities and uses his new powers to solve the kidnapping case of a little girl. His good deed is acknowledged, and he’s rewarded by being enrolled into… a prestigious academy for noble children..

The concept of this sounds fine. But I do wonder about the pattern of turning series that sound like fantasy shows into isekai. This character is living his life and suddenly remembers who he was in another world. Does that matter? Well I suppose it depends if he’s bringing modern concepts into this fantasy setting or not. The potent magical powers could have just been him being chosen or gifted for whatever reason. Not sure how good this will be from the summary since the setup is pretty simple. The pv looked pretty good and caught my interest enough for this to make my preview. Fingers crossed that it turns out well.

Conclusion

There is a lot to look forward to this season. The downside is that a fair number of my most hyped projects are movies that I probably won’t see until late this year or early next year. But in terms of the tv anime projects themselves I’m feeling good about what we’ve got. The return of Kobayashi-san alone would make this a season I’m looking forward to. But we still have quite a few shows worth the hype and certainly some question mark series that could be very hit or miss.

At this stage I’m not sure about what shows I might pick up. There will be carryover with Boku no Hero and in that respect I can only pick up so many new shows. At this stage it feels like we’ve got plenty of isekai (as usual), some comedies, good action, and of course…Higurashi. That show will be a wild card in itself. If it can come through then summer will be a lot more fun and I won’t have any issues picking it up. Hopefully it can manage that instead of being so much of a bother that I’d rather not talk about it ever again.

As always I hope this gave people some insights about some of the shows coming our way and how I’m feeling about the Summer Season overall. Summer isn’t always the most packed seasons in terms of quantity and that’s all the more true with a couple shows I was looking forward to being pushed back to fall. Would be happy to read about what others are looking forward to this season. This is a fun time of the year when all we can do is look forward to what is coming and hoping it delivers. Hopefully summer is a good season for everyone in terms of the anime and whatever they are dealing with.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About


Warning: Use of undefined constant user_description - assumed 'user_description' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/anime-evo.net/public_html/wp-content/themes/aev5theme/single-preview.php on line 138
An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.