Not often have I found myself a bit overwhelmed looking towards a new season. Spring is always one of the busier seasons of the year and this is certainly no exception to that. This might be the Spring with the highest number of hyped shows for me in a long time. I could double my usual amount of coverage for a season and it still wouldn’t be enough to completely cover my most anticipated series! So, it’s going to be fun to talk about the season coming up while wondering if there are enough hours in the day for me to watch everything!

Winter was an interesting season. It did have quite a few shows that I ended up dropping mid-season. Such as Nozomanu Fushi no Boukensha and Saikyou Tank no Meikyuu Kouryaku. At the same time it did have some good shows that I loved. The carryover of Sousou no Frieren remained fantastic. It was my top show of 2023 and hardly let me down going into 2024. The second season of Banished from the Hero’s Party was satisfying. And while Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu’s second season didn’t start strong it picked up as it went along.

As always, the preview will be referring to information listed on LiveChart and AniList. This certainly won’t be a comprehensive preview of what is coming up. It will just be a list of the shows I’m interested in. Everyone can feel free to talk about the shows they are hyped about in the comments, even if I don’t mention them here. There will be shows I don’t know that much about their source material so any discussion on what can be expected there (minus spoilers) sounds good to me.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most excited about. Odds are that’s because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material. But I may just have gotten excited by the summary or trailer. If these don’t turn out to be good that will be rather disappointing.

Spice and Wolf: merchant meets the wise wolf

  • Air Date: 1 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Passione
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Lawrence is a traveling merchant selling various goods from a horse-drawn cart. One day, he arrives at a village and meets a beautiful girl with the ears and tail of an animal! Her name is Holo the Wisewolf and she brings bountiful harvests. She wishes to return to her homeland, and Lawrence offers to take her. Now, the once-lonely merchant and the once-lonely wisewolf begin their journey north.

Starting here proves how stacked this season is going to be! This is the return of what I’d consider a classic franchise. The only downside is that this is a full-blown remake. So, they are going right back to the beginning of the story. Anyone that did watch the original season is not going to see a lot of new material. There may be some new characters that didn’t get included in the original series, but we’ll have to wait and see there. The biggest challenge is that I’m going to struggle to not call the main heroine Horo. That was the translation from the original subs and was considered the right choice until she did write her name as Holo in the second season! But Holo is the official translation, so we’ll see how I handle that.  

I want to swing back to the positive though. This franchise is great. Holo and Lawrence are one of my favourite anime couples. And I love that they are bringing back Ami Koshimizu as Holo and Jun Fukuyama as Lawrence. These two were great before and no reason they won’t be great again. It’s a slow (mostly) paced fantasy series where the focus is on trade/economics/conspiracies. And it’s way more fun than I can make it sound by saying that. This will be a show to watch. Though whether I’ll have anything interesting to say about the remake will have to be seen. 

Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken 3rd Season

  • Air Date: 5 Apr 2024
  • Studio: 8-bit
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The third season of Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken - Living alone and never having had a girlfriend, 37-year-old Satoru Mikami is dissatisfied with how his life has turned out. But after dying at the hands of a robber, he awakens to a fresh start in a new world...as a slime monster.

It’s funny how things work out. This show wasn’t really on my radar when it was airing. But I ended up giving it a shot later and had a great time with it! It takes the whole idea of the isekai protagonist ending up as a non-human entity and makes it work nicely. Rimuru fits into the “OP protagonist” category even by the end of the second season. So in a sense the challenge for season 3 will be providing some interesting situations and possibly some challenges. If nothing else, it will be fun to see the various characters once again. 

Boku no Hero Academia 7

  • Air Date: 4 May 2024
  • Studio: bones
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The seventh season of Boku no Hero Academia - Middle school student Izuku Midoriya wants to be a hero more than anything, but he hasn’t got an ounce of power in him. With no chance of ever getting into the prestigious U.A. High School for budding heroes, his life is looking more and more like a dead end. Then an encounter with All Might, the greatest hero of them all, gives him a chance to change his destiny…

This franchise has had ups and downs for me over the years. The first few seasons were among my favourite anime of their respective years. The latest seasons have been more mixed, but I’m feeling as if this one will go in a satisfying direction. The world has shifted hard since the return of All for One to the stage and Deku has been pushed hard to master his powers as much as he can. I didn’t love the choice to give him the abilities of previous One for All users, but it is what it is. I’m just hoping that they won’t have any weird story arcs that take the momentum away from the story. If they do things right it could be among my favourites of the season! The action should be good and at this point the story really is going at full tilt. It should be safe to expect a wild ride and I’m going to hope we get that.

Kaijuu 8-gou

  • Air Date: 13 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Production I.G
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

With the highest kaiju-emergence rates in the world, Japan is no stranger to attack by deadly monsters. Enter the Japan Defense Force, a military organization tasked with the neutralization of kaiju. Kafka Hibino, a kaiju-corpse cleanup man, has always dreamed of joining the force. But when he gets another shot at achieving his childhood dream, he undergoes an unexpected transformation. How can he fight kaiju now that he’s become one himself?!

I enjoyed the heck out of the manga as it has built up the kind of runway to get an anime adaptation. I know some elements of the lead up to this release haven’t quite appealed to people. But I’m still excited to see this story get animated and I’m hoping for the best in terms of how that turns out. It has the bones for a satisfying story. Getting to see the main character rise to chase the goals/dreams he had to put on hold due to not being able to chase them. If done well this could have plenty of great action and a good cast of supporting characters. Can Production I.G pull this off? I sure hope so. If they execute then it will be amazing.

Yuru Camp△ S3

  • Air Date: 4 Apr 2024
  • Studio: 8-bit
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The third season of Yuru Camp△ - Rin likes to go camping by herself along the lakes that provide a scenic view of Mt. Fuji. Nadeshiko loves to take cycling trips by herself to places where she can see Mt. Fuji. After they meet, Rin and Nadeshiko take camping trips, eat cup ramen together, and enjoy the scenery.

The return of one of my comfort anime! This show is just easy to sit back, relax, and enjoy. Just give me a few episodes of Nadeshiko and Rin camping together, and I’ll be satisfied. Obviously if they match previous seasons there will be a good mix of solo and group camping. But I’m hoping for some good moments for that main duo. Camping isn’t really my thing and I’m not thinking about camping when it gets cold out! But I can absolutely enjoy a group of likeable characters getting into it. This should be cute, relaxing, and an easy way to spend half an hour each week. Though it might be tough to relax that much with how packed the season is. This show is so safe there’s little for me to worry about.

Hibike! Euphonium 3

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Kyoto Animation
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The third season of Hibike! Euphonium - Anime centering on Kumiko's third year in high school.

This is a show where I’m truly wondering how I’ll manage to narrow down what series I’m going to cover. I’ve got a very soft spot for this show. Mostly because I played the Euphonium in high school XD. This is a show where I’m going to expect great music, beautiful animation, and plenty of drama. It’s hard to ignore the tragedy that struck KyoAni in the past. So, any time they come back to a series they did such justice like this, it’s one I’m really going to look forward to. Will I spend weeks just praising the heck out of this show? That’s very possible. When watching the trailers I just get the feeling that this will be a special series. If nothing else I’m almost certain to watch the whole thing and enjoy seeing where Kumiko’s journey goes.

Blue Archive The Animation

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Yostar Pictures
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The city's academies are divided into their own districts and are considered mostly independent...To avoid disaster, the General Student Council requests assistance from the Federal Investigation Club, otherwise known as Schale. In fact, Schale is the city's newest club and the last to be approved before the president's disappearance. To accomplish its task, Schale relies on the guidance of a Sensei who can help them resolve the incidents around Kivotos.

My fingers are truly crossed here. Blue Archive really grabbed me when I was looking for something else after the cruel global death of Princess Connect: Re Dive. Blue Archive absolutely filled that gap with one of my favourite mobile game stories beyond Fate/Grand Order. It has a great cast of characters, and they really nailed the story side of it. 

And that’s what I’m crossing my fingers over. Will they do the story justice? Mobile game adaptations can be unbelievably hit or miss. Some just forget there is a story, ignore the player character, and miss what people were attached to in the first place. So far the visuals look great. Yostar Pictures and studio CANDY BOX have put out good trailers so far. And it appears they’ll actually follow the story since the reveals have focused on the characters of the first story chapters. The only question that will make this sink or swim is how they handle the player character (the mysterious Sensei). This isn’t a character that can be ignored or avoided. Way too essential to the story. Will they get it right or will this fail? I don’t know, but I’m really hoping they do it well! 

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise.

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 3

  • Air Date: 10 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Drive
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The dysfunctional party is back, but they may be short a member soon ’cause Kazuma is over it. Disillusioned with adventure, he wants to become a monk, but Aqua, Megumin, and Darkness call bull. However, the career dispute gets put on hold when a princess requests to hear all about their tales. Will the taste of fame at the royal castle keep them together or will this mark their farewell tour?

This is looking to be a season of big sequels. Admittedly I was a bit less hyped about the Megumin show as one have expected. But it’s probably going to be fine to have Konosuba back. The first season was so darn good. The second wasn’t as good (to me) but it still maintained the kind of fun you’d expect. A series full of characters who…are all kind of awful in their own ways. Kazuma deserves the things that happen to him because he absolutely does stupid things. But that goes for Aqua, Megumin, and even Darkness. So, I’m curious to see what antics these agents of chaos are going to get into! Probably won’t be the best show of the season. But it could be extremely fun.

Yozakura-san Chi no Daisakusen

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2024
  • Studio: SILVER LINK
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Taiyou Asano is a super shy high school student and the only person he can talk to is his childhood friend, Mutsumi Yozakura. It turns out that Mutsumi is the daughter of the ultimate spy family! Even worse, Mutsumi is being harassed by her overprotective, nightmare of a brother, Kyouichirou. What drastic steps will Taiyou have to take to save Mutsumi?! A spy family comedy - the mission begins!

It’s a pretty good season in terms of getting adaptations of manga that I’ve read. The setup isn’t a bad one. You have a character that is from a “relatively” normal background getting pulled into this world of supernatural spies! His backstory is hardly what I’d call normal, but the summary doesn’t really touch on that so I won’t either. I do like the main pair in this story. They are cute and their connection will allow for things to spiral into the crazy. It should have some good action and a lot of over-the-top personalities since Mutsumi’s family are as wild as they look. For me the story did drop off a bit later. But I don’t even think that point will happen in this first season so that won’t be an issue!

Unnamed Memory

  • Air Date: 9 Apr 2024
  • Studio: ENGI
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Climbing a deadly tower, Oscar seeks the power of its master, the Witch of the Azure Moon. He hopes her incredible magic can break a curse that will kill any woman he takes for a wife. When the prince sees how beautiful Tinasha is, though, he has a better idea-since she's surely strong enough to survive his curse, she should just marry him instead! Tinasha isn't keen on the idea, but agrees to live with Oscar in the royal castle for a year while researching the spell placed on the prince.

I’m going to admit that the concept of this one really has my attention. It just seems like it will be fun. Which is something considering Oscar has a pretty horrible curse to live with. Obviously, nothing bad will happen if he simply never gets close to women, but that’s a tough spot. More so when he’s a Prince and probably doesn’t feel like that’s a great option. It’s a fun choice though to have him seek out this legendary witch to free him of the curse…only to fall hard for her and want to just marry her. Admittedly that’s not a terrible concept since she probably could fight off a curse of that nature anyways. There is the whole “blood of a witch mixing into the royal family” angle, but obviously Oscar doesn’t seem to care. I just feel as if these two will be fun to watch!

Series of Lower Interest

These are the shows I’m still interested in, but it’s a lot weaker than the tiers above. Either the previous seasons were mixed bags for me or I just don’t have enough to work. They still get mentioned because I still think the potential is there to really surprise me. Which is more than the shows I’m not going to mention at all.

Kimetsu no Yaiba: Hashira Geiko-hen

  • Air Date: 12 May 2024
  • Studio: ufotable
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Adaptation of the Hashira Training Arc

I’m sure this is going to be one of the bigger anime of the year. At least in terms of public reaction and probably awards (looking at how the CR awards show went). But it’s a franchise I’ve been mixed on. The visuals are amazing and the setting isn’t bad at all. There was one…character…that made it very difficult. So I’m not really committed to jumping in and seeing how this one goes. But I might check out a few episodes just to appreciate the spectacle. I hope this is everything the fans are expecting.

Hananoi-kun to Koi no Yamai

  • Air Date: 4 Apr 2024
  • Studio: East Fish Studio
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Hotaru Hinase is a first-year in high school that has a great family and wonderful friends, but not much luck when it comes to romance. One day, she happens to see the hot boy from the class next door, Hananoi, get dumped. Seeing Hananoi standing in the middle of a park all alone, Hotaru decides to hand him an umbrella. That little act causes Hananoi to ask her out soon after. What does love even mean? What does it mean to be in love? Hotaru is flustered at suddenly being asked out by Hananoi

Another series where one act of kindness completely changes a life! I’m not sure how good this will be. But Kana Hanazawa voicing the main character is always a treat. She makes every character at least worth giving a chance to. And I think this could be solid. Will see if it’s more about the main guy needing to ease up when it comes to how he approaches love or if Hotaru gets swept up in his pace and starts to figure out what love means to her. Could be a bit of both, but will see how this goes.

Tensei Shitara Dai Nana Ouji Dattanode

  • Air Date: 1 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Tsumugi Akita Anime Lab
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The qualities valued most in the study of magic are bloodline, aptitude, and effort. There was one sorcerer who, despite his deep love for magic, was born a commoner and thus lacked the bloodline and aptitude for it. As he died an unnatural death, he wished he had studied magic more while he had the chance. Then, he was reincarnated as Lloyd, the seventh prince of the Kingdom of Saloum and one blessed with a strong magical bloodline. Reborn with all his memories intact...

The trailer was enough to at least get my attention here. I kind of love how it feels like everyone is a bit unhinged. Our protagonist is such a lunatic for magic that he’ll get into it with demons just because! But it doesn’t seem like he’s alone in being a bit crazy. I suppose it’ll depend on how crazy everyone is since that could be a bit too much. But I like the visuals and the concept is solid. Reincarnation stories can be fine and I like that this guy was a mage to begin with. Gets to live the life he always dreamed of and is presumably getting a harem out of it too.

WIND BREAKER

  • Air Date: 4 Apr 2024
  • Studio: CloverWorks
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Haruka Sakura wants nothing to do with weaklings—he's only interested in the strongest of the strong. He's from Fuurin High School, a school of near-dropout degenerates known only for their brawling strength. And in a town known for its territorial disputes, Haruka's got only one goal—become the hero his town deserves.

I would say this one is simple. The main character loves fighting and is going to get into a lot of them. Good voice actor and Cloverworks can handle the visuals. Presumably there’s enough appeal for the manga to still be going to this day. But I’ll have to wait and see to find out just what that is. The first episode will get checked out though. The trailer was fun.

Yoru no Kurage wa Oyogenai

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Doga Kobo
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

"I want to find what I enjoy." Shibuya, a district overflowing with identity. A girl trying to find herself drifts through Shibuya in the dead of night until a special encounter changes everything. For the first time, the creative activities of unknown young girls will begin—

The tone of the trailer was good. Seems like it will be a show with a lot of drama. And just a bunch of characters finding themselves and growing through their difficulties. Doga Kobo is up for this sort of story. It will look good, and the drama will hopefully be compelling. The summary is thin and it’s an original show so there’s plenty of room for surprise. It’s not my most anticipated series by a long shot, but it’s something I’m curious to see. 

Tensei Kizoku, Kantei Skill de Nariagaru

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2024
  • Studio: studio MOTHER
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Our protagonist, Ars Louvent, was reincarnated in another world as the young son of a minor noble who owns a small domain. Ars was not particularly strong or intelligent, but he was born with the Appraisal Skill that's able to see others' abilities and statuses.He uses his skill to find the best hidden talents in the world to make their small, weak domain into the best. An isekai tale about unification is about to start, featuring the kind-hearted Ars and the unique talents he manages to find!

I’d say the isekai boom has trailed off the last few years. But we are still going to get some. I like the concept of this from the summary. The main character might stay relatively weak, but with the skills to gather great people around him. He can find those diamonds in the rough and be far more impactful to the world than those around him would have predicted. Even while being a noble he’s still a bit of an underdog and those kinds of stories can be good.

Kami wa Game ni Ueteiru

  • Air Date: 1 Apr 2024
  • Studio: LIDENFILMS
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

In their (overabundance of) free time, the gods grew bored and decided to create challenging battles of wits to spice things up! Their opponent? Humanity! A select few players called “apostles” meet the gods on the spiritual realm’s playing field to beat the deities at their own games. A former god named Leshea has woken after sleeping for thousands of years, and her first demand is to meet “this era’s very best player!” She is introduced to Fay, an acclaimed rookie apostle.

On the positive side it doesn’t seem like the stakes are super high here. You have humans (and a former god) challenging the gods in games, but it just seems like a competition to score a big prize and not necessarily to save the world or anything. So, in that sense it should be fun to watch the characters have a good time tackling that challenge. Should just be a positive and somewhat over the top show where the games they play against the gods are probably crazy.

Lv2 Kara Cheat datta Moto Yuusha Kouho

  • Air Date: 8 Apr 2024
  • Studio: J.C. Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The Magical Kingdom of Klyrode summons hundreds of heroes from other worlds every year to fight in their war against the Dark One and his army of powerful demons. Banaza is one of those heroes, summoned from the Royal Capital Paluma, but something’s not right—Banaza is only an average merchant. He has no magic, no fighting ability, and his stats are abysmal. Worse, a mishap leaves him unable to return home! Rejected as a hero and stranded in another world...

This seems like a pretty standard isekai setup. Maybe with a bit of “being abandoned” as part of the equation. The main character gets summoned into all this but is dumped when he doesn’t appear useful. But of course, he gets quite a bit more useful after gaining that next level and apparently gets a cute beast girl as his main heroine. Presumably with his merchant skill he’ll mostly be focusing on just staying out of things while having the power to handle any situation he does get involved in. But we shall see. I expect a pretty basic and light show. It might slip through the cracks for me with how many good shows will be coming in spring. But I do want to check it out.

Maou no Ore ga Dorei Elf wo Yome ni Shitanda ga

  • Air Date: 4 Apr 2024
  • Studio: Brain's Base
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Zagan might be the most feared evil sorcerer, but when it comes to social interactions, he’s the most inept. All those days studying the dark arts won’t help him when he falls in love at first sight with Nephelia, the beautiful elven slave, and spends his entire fortune to purchase her. With no clue how to talk to each other, the awkward arrangement for a bumbling sorcerer and timid elf begins.

I’m all for a bit of an awkward romance like this. A Demon Lord that is supremely powerful, but not exactly skilled on the romantic side. And a gorgeous elvish slave that probably has had a garbage time until meeting the MC. It feels like a duo that could be fun as they awkwardly interact and start to find their way forward. I’m curious to see if they do handle things like people not being keen on him romancing an elvish slave. But I guess we’ll have to see. It’s likely to be a pretty silly show, but it could be a cute watch. 

Shinigami Bocchan to Kuro Maid S3

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2024
  • Studio: J.C. Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The third season of Shinigami Bocchan to Kuro Maid - The duke, full of love and kindness, treads carefully around every living being, be it a tender flower or his seductive maid, Alice Lendrott. Were it not for the devotion Alice shows him and the fondness that grows ever stronger between them, the duke would have barely paid heed to his mother's demand: to either lift the dreadful curse placed upon him or lose his family inheritance.

And this show returns. I still don’t love the animation choice, but it’s the third season so it can’t be helped. I do wonder if this will completely wrap things up. They know who the main threat is and are taking steps to interact with her. Honestly all the MC wants is to be free of that curse so he can get up close and personal with Alice as much as he’d like. And I’m sure he’s going to reach that point. They might even resolve things with the state Alice’s mother is in. I won’t be covering this one, but I should be watching.

One Room, Hi Atari Futsuu, Tenshi Tsuki

  • Air Date: 30 Mar 2024
  • Studio: Okuruto Noboru
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Shintarou Tokumitsu is a high schooler living all alone, but things take an unexpected turn when a girl named Towa shows up on his balcony! Not only is she incredibly pure and sweet, but there’s something different about her—something… divine. Just who is Shintarou’s new roommate, and what adorable high jinks lie in store?!

Looks to be a nice and simple romcom. Towa looks adorable and I can’t blame Shintarou for falling so hard for her. I don’t expect anything too complex out of this show. But if it can maintain the cute tone and avoid becoming frustrating then it should be fine. Just needs to be fun and entertaining and I think it will manage that.

Conclusion

So…that’s the Spring season! It’s absolutely packed and I have no idea at this point what shows I’m going to cover. For better or worse there aren’t many shows carrying over into Spring that I’m actively watching and none that I’m covering. The biggest one for me will be Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu. So while the season is going to be overwhelming, at least I’ve got some room to watch a ton of new series. 

A season like this is why I’ll never stop watching anime. I could see half of my top 10 list of the year just coming out of Spring with how strong it is. No matter how many good shows come and go, there always seems to be something new just waiting around the corner. This season is just crazy with the return of Spice and Wolf, Boku no Hero, Yuru Camp△, Hibike! Euphonium and more! Some of these have been contenders for my favourite anime of the year. 

And this season has a nice mix. You have some school life drama, relaxing slice of life, big action series, some yuri, romance, and yes some isekai. There should be something for everyone even if they won’t be interested in everything. I’m honestly curious to see what people are really looking forward to this season. Maybe this season is particularly up my alley, but I think it should be a packed season for a lot of people. Can’t wait for it to arrive. 

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About


Warning: Use of undefined constant user_description - assumed 'user_description' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/anime-evo.net/public_html/wp-content/themes/aev5theme/single-preview.php on line 138
An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.