I’m going to admit this is easily the most excited I’ve been for a new season in a while. Not that Winter and Spring were bad seasons. But they just weren’t as overwhelmingly good as I felt their counterparts in 2018 were and definitely not as exciting as Summer 2019 is looking. This season has several shows I’ve been excited to see since their announcements and a lot of shows that just seem great from the summaries and preview materials. I am of course glad we’ve got some solid carryovers such as Kimetsu no Yaiba, Fruits Basket, and even Diamond no Ace. But the big pull for me involves the great shows we’re set to see this Summer.

This preview will of course just be my personal thoughts. It won’t cover every show that is coming out, but rather just the ones that caught my eye enough that I’ve got something to say about them. With this preview we’ve all got a chance to sort our thoughts about the coming season and see just what is coming our way.

As always will rely on LiveChart and AniChart for summaries and determining what we’re actually going to get a chance to watch.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. Odds are that is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. If these don’t turn out to be good that will be rather disappointing.

Senki Zesshou Symphogear XV

  • Air Date: 6 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Satelight
  • Episodes: 13
  • Blogging? Yes

Fifth season of "Senki Zesshou Symphogear."

For me this is the one show of the season that I have to see. Symphogear really surprised me back in 2012. It managed to mix together action, music, and a hero’s journey into a package that really worked. Now we’re here for the 5th season and I’m excited to see how it plays out. The fourth season set up a fair amount of plot threads that should be carried over into this next season. There’s no telling if there will be more from Symphogear or if this might be the end. But there’s no doubt that we’ll get some crazy action (especially in the first episode), some excellent songs, the main cast annihilating a lot of enemies. I’d be shocked if this didn’t end up being one of my top shows of the year so you can bet I’m ready to cover it when it airs in July.

Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou

  • Air Date: 8 Jul 2019
  • Studio: White Fox
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Seventeen-year-old Hajime Nagumo is your average, everyday otaku. However, his simple life of pulling all-nighters and sleeping in school is suddenly turned upside down when he, along with the rest of his class, is summoned to a fantasy world!...While the rest of his class are blessed with godlike powers, Hajime's job, Synergist, only has a single transmutation skill. Ridiculed and bullied by his classmates for being weak, he soon finds himself in despair. Will he be able to survive...

This is one I’m personally excited to see animated. I just stumbled across the manga adaptation and eventually the light novel and found myself really enjoying it. It is yet another isekai, but I do like some of the quirks it has going for it. Rather than just the main character alone it was effectively his whole class taken to this other world. I don’t think it’d be unfair to draw a comparison to the Shield Hero in having a main character who finds this other world ‘adventure’ turning into a personal nightmare. I do find the character arc for the main character sensible enough and enjoyed the main cast. As an adaptation one has to wait and see how it turns out and if they can capture what made the source material work. But I do have faith in what White Fox can do.

Enen no Shouboutai

  • Air Date: 6 Jul 2019
  • Studio: David Production
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Terror has paralyzed the clockwork metropolis of Tokyo! Possessed by demons, people have begun to burst into flame, leading to the establishment of a special firefighting team: the Fire Force, ready to roll on a moment's notice to fight spontaneous combustion anywhere it might break out. The team is about to get a very unique addition: Shinra, a boy who possesses the unique power to run at the speed of a rocket, leaving behind the famous "devil's footprints"...

This honestly looks pretty cool. A firefighting anime where literally fight the fire. That’s the fun you can have with anime. Take at the core a straight forward concept and dial it up to 11. You’ve got spontaneous combustion with a supernatural element and a fire fighting squad with their own special abilities. This could just straight up be fun. And honestly David Production has done a nice job over the years in delivering some visually satisfying action. The concept sounds good and the trailers have been good.

Lord El-Melloi II Sei no Jikenbo

  • Air Date: 7 Jul 2019
  • Studio: TROYCA
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

When Lord El-Melloi II, the later Waver Velvet, gets asked to claim his inheritance over Adra Castle, he travels there with his apprentice Gray to do so. But they are not the only ones called that way. The will of the previous owner states that the assembled contestants—including Luviagelita Edelfelt—must compete in a game of wits to win the castle.

The Fate series is back with another show that could be rather fun. You have Waver from Fate/Zero picking up years after the events of that show. It is a chance to dive into the world of magic that show takes place in without going right at the standard Holy Grail War setting that many of these series focus on. It is also a chance to see characters like Luvia appear who only had very limited screen time in Unlimited Blade Works and of course in the Fate/Kaleid spinoffs. We should get some mystery and some action. In some ways it should be refreshing without being too unfamiliar to those who only really stuck with the main Fate titles.

If It's for My Daughter, I'd Even Defeat a Demon Lord

  • Air Date: 4 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Maho Film
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Dale is a cool, composed, and highly skilled adventurer who's made quite a name for himself despite his youth. One day on a job deep in the forest, he comes across a little devil girl who's almost wasted away. Unable to just leave her there to die, Dale takes her home and becomes her adoptive father. Devil or not, Latina is beyond adorable, and the adventurer soon finds himself head over heels with being a parent. But why was she out in the forest to begin with...

You can tell this based on a light novel with such a long title. I did come across the manga and enjoyed what I saw. Being a pure fantasy series and not an isekai didn’t hurt anything. But the core is just this incredibly powerful adventurer in Dale finding this kid and ending up becoming her parental figure. Latina is an adorable character and I’m sure that will translate just fine to the animated medium. It should be enjoyable seeing these two build up a close bond and the growth that spurs in the both of them. Gaining a sense of family can change people in a variety of ways and we should see that here. This is a show I’m just bound to enjoy.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise sometimes.

Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator

  • Air Date: 12 Jul 2019
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

After protecting Last Order at the cost of much of his power, Accelerator now finds himself dragged into a new conflict in the form of a sinister organization called Disciplinary Action which plots to use Last Order for a dangerous mission. Now that they have set their plan into motion and are in pursuit of the young girl, it's up to the world's most powerful esper and his newfound companion, Estelle Rosenthal, to protect Last Order and defend Academy City in the process.

I’m hoping this ends up being great. It isn’t a secret that I found the third season of Index rather disappointing as a whole. But I’m hoping that Accelerator gets the chance to bounce back from that. Hopefully as a manga adaptation it doesn’t feel any need to rush itself. Just tell the story it sets out to tell. But my issues with Index 3 do leave me worried enough to drop this down to the moderate interest tier. My guard is going to be up for this one until it airs and proves itself to be good. But I hope it is. Accelerator as a character has grown over the course of the various Index-verse materials. Leading his own show could turn out great.

Vinland Saga

  • Air Date: 8 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Wit Studio
  • Episodes: 24
  • Blogging? No

For a thousand years, the Vikings have made quite a name and reputation for themselves as the strongest families with a thirst for violence. Thorfinn, the son of one of the Vikings' greatest warriors, spends his boyhood in a battlefield enhancing his skills in his adventure to redeem his most-desired revenge after his father was murdered.

This does have the feel of a show that could be rather epic. With 24 episodes that is plenty of time to really dive into the journey of the MC. The son of a legendary Viking is off on a personal journey of growth towards avenging his father. It could deliver more brutal action than other shows with the characters not appearing to have crazy abilities, but just being brutal warriors. Wit Studio also knows how to bring some nice visuals as we’ve seen over the years such as with Attack on Titan. It will depend on how the main character Thorfinn turns out, but it has some nice potential.

Kanata no Astra

  • Air Date: 3 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Lerche
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The year is 2061, when space travel is now possible and commercially viable, and the students of Caird High School embark on their Planet Camp. But soon after Group B5 arrived at their planetary camp site, a mysterious and unforeseen sentient light sphere warps its 9 members into outer space, stranding them 5012 light years away from their home planet. With the discovery of an old, unmanned spaceship nearby, the students must stay strong, manage their limited resources and remain united...

Astra honestly sounds like a pretty interesting show. In some ways it feels refreshing to have a ‘lost in space’ anime. A futuristic setting to start off and a tale about a cast of characters trying to find their way back home sounds pretty enjoyable. A nice move with the first preview as well capturing that kind of quiet terror of floating around in a void by yourself. The key will be the main cast being enjoyable, but that’s a consistent for any series. It just makes me think to shows like Star Trek or Star Gate. With this show you have a group that needs to come together in a weird situation and having no real backup to count on. The very setting has enough unique about it that I hope it ends up being great.

Dr. Stone

  • Air Date: 5 Jul 2019
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

One fateful day, all of humanity was petrified by a blinding flash of light. After several millennia, high schooler Taiju awakens and finds himself lost in a world of statues. However, he’s not alone! His science-loving friend Senku’s been up and running for a few months and he's got a grand plan in mind—to kickstart civilization with the power of science!

Here’s another fairly established Shonen Jump series becoming an anime. If nothing else the basic premise is interesting enough. Humanity was effectively turned to stone for thousands of years and has to pick itself back up. I’m not even sure how really to categorize that. You aren’t really dealing with an isekai since it is still Earth. It is more akin to a time traveling kind of scenario. Just a much slower kind of time travel where people are in stasis. It will be interesting to see how this turns out and whether the characters hold up. Senkuu seems like he’ll be entertaining enough as the brains and Taiju as the brawns. Of course the key is for them not to just be clichés but interesting characters. But an Earth changed and a modern cast having to adapt to a whole new world could work out. Fingers are crossed.

Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san 2

  • Air Date: 7 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Shin-Ei Animation
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Having a friend that knows you inside out should be a good thing, but in Nishikata's case, the opposite is true. His classmate Takagi loves to tease him on a daily basis, and she uses her extensive knowledge of his behavior to predict exactly how he will react to her teasing, making it nearly impossible for Nishikata to ever make a successful comeback. Despite this, Nishikata vows to someday give Takagi a taste of her own medicine by making her blush out of embarrassment from his teasing.

There’s nothing really unknown about this show. Takagi-san was an enjoyable show when the first season came out in 2018. Now we get to go right back into that familiar formula with these familiar characters. The key back then is the same now. You’ve got Takagi’s cute teasing/flirting with the guy she likes and the mental struggle of Nishikata to try and ‘win’ against her. All the while the two of them continue to grow closer. If you don’t get tired of the formula it should be a consistently fun show from week to week. The preview just nailed the dynamic between these two and much of what we’ll see. I’m more than up for watching more of this series even if I won’t likely end up covering it.

Series of Mild Interest

Here are the shows that I’m not too hyped for, but still interested in talking about. Good shows I enjoy can come out of this section. I just don’t know enough about these shows or don’t see enough from the previews to be excited yet. At the very least I’ll definitely check out those first few episodes.

BEM

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2019
  • Studio: LandQ Studios
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Bem, Bela, and Belo are ugly humanoid youkai who fight for justice. They live among humans and protect them from evil youkai. The three find themselves ostracized from both humans and other youkai, but the three continue to fight in hopes of one day becoming humans themselves.

This does have an interesting history to it. Bem is a franchise that has popped up in anime form since the 1960s. I personally can’t recall if I ever saw any of those versions of course. IT does appear they really changed up the character designs from their classic incarnations, but can’t say I don’t like where they ended up. A trio of monsters saving people while hoping to become human themselves has some potential. I don’t know if this will be any good or entirely forgettable. The studio doesn’t have much history with anything I actually saw so…we’ll see.

Cop Craft

  • Air Date: 9 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Millepensee
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

15 years ago, an unknown hyperspace gate opened over the Pacific. Beyond this gate lies Reto Semaani, a strange alternate world where fairies and monsters live. San Teresa City—a city where over two million immigrants live from both worlds. As a result, there are the haves and the have-nots. Here is the world's newest "city of dreams." But in the shadow of the chaos, crime is rampant: drugs, prostitution, and weapon trafficking...

The concept of this show has me wanting to check it out. We’ve effectively got a buddy cop anime pairing up an old school type detective with a fantasy knight. This could be really good or just not work at all. I’m not sure which it will be quite yet. A lot will come down to the studio. Millepensee was responsible for those recent Berserk series so they’ll really need to step up their game to avoid sinking to that level. But it would be fun if this sort of show ended up being good.

Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru?

  • Air Date: 3 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Doga Kobo
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

"Hibiki … Are you fat again?" A friend's cruel words which cut like a knife into the heart of Hibiki Sakura, a high school girl who loves to eat. Hibiki decided to go on a diet to be absolutely thin by summer vacation, but she cannot keep exercising right alone. That's when Hibiki found herself before a training gym! Upon joining the gym, Hibiki meets her beautiful and charismatic student council president Akemi Souryuuin and steps into the intense yet enjoyable world of weight-training."

This does seem like another ‘cute girls doing cute things’ show, just with working out. I can’t count this show out since often these shows end up surprising me. The premise doesn’t sound particularly crazy. But if the main cast is likable then it will work. That’s hard to pick up from the early teasers. It wouldn’t surprise me though if I end up watching this show every week just because the cast is great.

DanMachi 2nd Season

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2019
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Second season of Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka. Commonly known as the "Dungeon," the city of Orario possesses a huge labyrinth in the underground. Its strange name attracts excitement, illusions of honor, and hopes of romance with a pretty girl. In this city of dreams and desires, new adventurer Bell Cranel has his fateful encounter with the tiny Goddess Hestia.

This show has returned again. Along with it comes the goddess whose outfit created a fan art outfit craze that lasted for months. I did enjoy a lot of the first season of this show. It did kind of lose me at points with the main character being incredibly reckless to the point that I couldn’t enjoy what he was doing. But the show overall was good. I’m hoping coming back to a fresh season of this show and having stepped back for a while will rekindle my enjoyment for the series. Hopefully Bell and the main cast can carry this forward.

Granbelm

  • Air Date: 5 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Nexus
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The story takes place in a world that long ago featured the existence of magic, but has long since lost that ability. The story begins when the very normal high school student Mangetsu Kohinata meets Shingetsu Ernesta Fukami, who has migrated back to Japan from Germany, on a night with a full moon.

If nothing else this does have an interesting mix of qualities. I’m all for more original shows popping up. Granbelm has an interesting sort of magitech feel coming from it. Even though the summary doesn’t tell you a lot, the preview materials are fairly extensive. You have what appears to be a normal girl (who is bound to end up not being so normal) meeting a mysterious girl caught up in some magical struggle. The action looks to have the potential to be rather fun to watch. It just depends on whether the ‘normal’ main character avoids becoming annoying. Being rather unhinged while crazy things are happening is normal, but go too far and you aren’t going to be a fun character to watch. I’m curious to check this one out.

Isekai Cheat Magician

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Encourage Films
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Nishimura Taichi and his friend Rin are transported into a fantasy world. While in their previous world, Taichi is a normal person who just has higher than average reflexes, both he and Rin gain high levels of physical and magical ability, and begin their new life as magicians.

What makes this one potentially interesting is that it involves two friends. Often your isekai scenarios have one person go to another world. Here we’ve got two and they are friends. Now an interesting spin on a familiar genre can be nice, but you need more than that for a good show. And that is why it is in this category of the preview right now. This could end up being good. Or it could just be a generic isekai with two childhood friends happening to be wandering around this world together. All we really know right now is that these two will be pretty darn powerful in this world and that they are friends. It is enough for me to want to check out a few episodes, but not to be overly hyped about it.

Kawaikereba Hentai demo Suki ni Natte Kuremasu ka?

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Geek Toys
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The romantic comedy begins when a love letter arrives out of the blue for Keiki Kiryū, an ordinary high school student who has never had a girlfriend as long as he has been alive. The letter does not include the sender's name — but the letter does include white panties. In the process of investigating who could be his "Cinderella who left behind her panties," Keiki discovers every candidate is uniquely perverted and desperately interested in having him participate in their perversion.

Here we have another show that could either be really fun or just too weird. A main character who is left trying to find his ‘Cinderella’ based on the underwear she left behind with her love letter. I suppose it is fair to say that even unusual people such as the girls that make up the main candidates deserve their chance at love. Hopefully the main character is a fairly likable person and not just constantly freaking out about the girl’s often unusual behavior. It might just end up being an odd show. But the preview was upbeat and this could work if they treat it right.

Maou-sama, Retry!

  • Air Date: 3 Jul 2019
  • Studio: EKACHI EPILKA
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The story centers on Akira Ouno, a regular guy who works at a company that manages an online game. He often plays the game as his character "Maou" (Dark Lord). But one day, when he logs on, he is whisked into the game's fantasy world as his character. There, he meets a one-legged girl, and begins his adventures alongside her. But as he is a powerful "Dark Lord," various nations and holy maidens journey to defeat him, and he stirs up trouble everywhere he goes.

This is a show that feels more like the standard like of isekai setup. Just a regular person gets swept up into this fantasy world, but in this case it is as his game character. This sort of show can definitely work. It could be fun watching this guy wandering around with the girl he met and a growing party, just causing problems because he is a powerful Dark Lord. There isn’t enough to form a strong opinion about this show from the summary though. It could be a purely generic type of show or rather fun. I’m willing to watch a few episodes and see what happens.

Sounan desu ka?

  • Air Date: 2 Jul 2019
  • Studio: Ezo’la
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Because of a plane crash…starting today, we're spending the springtime of our lives on a desert island!! There's nothing here, so we have to make everything!! And eat everything!! (Ugh!) Check out our high school girl survival story of courage and knowledge. We're actually doing pretty well! [Volume One Includes:] How to eat cicadas, how to build traps, a simple allergy test, how to eat hermit crabs, etc.

This season seems full of pretty out there ideas that could be great or just miss. Here we are with four girls not just doing cute things, but rather trapped on a deserted island. It could bring an interesting mix of cute moments and moments of the rather more difficult things needed to be done to stay alive in that scenario. The preview seemed to capture that with drinking fish blood and such. Hopefully the combination of weird and cute works.

Conclusion

This season just looks incredible. Now this is entirely because of personal bias and that a lot of the shows fit specific genres that I enjoy. There will be a lot of good action thanks to Symphogear, Accelerator, Dungeon S2, Arifureta, Vinland Saga, and Enen no Shouboutai. The comedy should be fine as well with; Dumbell, Takagi-san S2, Sounan, etc. Summer has some good fantasy options, some mystery, of course isekai, slice of life, and even a space adventure! There is a good amount of variety. Now I’m sure we have a few genres that won’t get representation this season, but Summer is covering a pretty wide spectrum.

Summer will be one of those rare times that I’m almost certain about what I want to cover. Symphogear XV is going to be covered. It would take a personal crisis for me to not find the time to cover that show. What else I may cover is more uncertain and we’ll have to wait and see. This season has way more contenders for me before the season even starts than the past few seasons have had. It won’t be a question of finding shows I want to talk about, but rather figuring out which shows I just can’t cover.

It is more common for the Summer season to be a bit smaller and not as hyped as Spring and Fall.  But for me this season could easily fill a large amount of my top 10 shows of the year if enough of them live up to my expectations. I hope this was interesting for people to read through and to get some insight as to what I’m thinking about this coming season. I hope there is enough in this season that others are excited about. A new season is a chance to find some new favorites. Hopefully there is something for everyone.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.