This is going to be an interesting preview for me. There are seasons where I’m a bit unsure how things are going to play out and then there is Summer 2018. The past few years I think the summer anime season has been rather strong. But right now I just can’t say that about this coming summer season. This is one season where I’m just not hyped. This season could very well surprise me. But going in I just don’t have a ton of shows that have me excited to see the next season start up. The majority of shows are either ones I know very little about or previous seasons/materials have left me a bit lukewarm about the franchise.

Luckily the carryovers going into summer are pretty darn strong. Boku no Hero remains an outstanding series. They just keep coming back with great seasons. The decision to come back yearly with 1 or 2 cour seasons is just working out for the best. We get strong seasons that are paced well and are well animated. Along with that we’ve still got Steins;Gate 0 which hasn’t disappointed. That show is an emotional rollercoaster. It may not be the easiest show to get through with some emotional gut punches, but it is definitely a strong show that I’m glad is still carrying on to the summer season.

As usual I’ll be referencing from Livechart and Anichart. They remain a good way to know what is coming out in any given season.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. That is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. I’m both counting on these shows to be entertaining and would be really disappointed if they fell short.

Fate/Extra: Last Encore - Irusterias Tendouron

  • Air Date: 29 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Shaft
  • Episodes: 2
  • Blogging? Yes

Waking up in a strange virtual world with no recollection of the past, Hakuno finds himself forced to fight for survival in a war he does not understand for a prize beyond value; the opportunity to have one's wish granted. With only an enigmatic "Servant" by his side, Hakuno Kishinami will have to face both friends and foes in battles to the death in order to not only gain possession of a mysterious object known as the "Holy Grail,"

This really is easily my most anticipated series of the season. In part because I don’t really consider it a new series. As Shaft tends to do…they couldn’t finish the Fate/Extra story and only got to episode 10. It sounds as if this will be 2 separate 1 hour specials. Honestly that should be enough to wrap up the story so I’m pretty excited to see it.

It may have differed for some, but I quite enjoyed Fate/Extra’s story to this point. I’m looking forward to seeing how things play out for Hakuno and this Saber. They did a pretty good job to this point and there’s no show I’m more excited to see episodes from than this one.

Series of Moderate Interest

We pretty quickly move to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching them. Some have intriguing premises that I’m curious to see play out. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites, but not as hyped about them going into the season.

Shichisei no Subaru

  • Air Date: 6 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Lerche
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

In the popular MMORPG world 'Union' there existed a legendary party. It's name was Subaru. This party, made up of a group of childhood friends and elementary schoolers, exceeded the limits of the game with their various senses. However, due to an incident which resulted in a death, 'Union' ended its service and the group of childhood friends went separate ways... 6 years later, highschooler Haruto logged into the new 'Reunion' and reunited with a single girl. Asahi...

In some ways the summary for this show makes me think of Anohana. Of course with this being a light novel adaptation I expect the story as a whole to play out differently. I do think if handled well this could have a nice story to it. The main character and his friends having the potential to reunite with someone that appears to be their friend that died years ago. Of course this is taking place inside a game which is another key difference. But regardless I think this has some potential. It could be pretty average, but the potential is there.

Shingeki no Kyojin Season 3

  • Air Date: 23 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Wit Studio
  • Episodes: 24
  • Blogging? No

Eren Jaeger swore to wipe out every last Titan, but in a battle for his life he wound up becoming the thing he hates most. With his new powers, he fights for humanity’s freedom facing the monsters that threaten his home. After a bittersweet victory against the Female Titan, Eren finds no time to rest—a horde of Titans is approaching Wall Rose and the battle for humanity continues!

I know for some this is going to be a hugely hyped series. For me the show is good, but at times I run out of patience with the personality of the main character. There is understanding where a person is coming from and there is liking them having any screen time XD. It’s a dramatic show and I expect some intense scenes as per the norm. It may not be my most anticipated show of the season, but I can respect the impact it will have.

Jrashin-chan Dropkick

  • Air Date: 10 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Nomad
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Jashin-chan Dropkick is a violent slapstic comedy about a delusional gothic lolita, Yurine, who summons a demon girl with the tail of a cobra, Jashin-chan. They'll have to live together until Yurine finds a way to send Jashin-chan back to hell, or until Jyashin-chan kills Yurine.

If nothing else the early PVs for this show caught my attention. This could be pretty silly fun. Now whether or not the physical humor and the characters can carry the show remains to be seen. If the show and characters don’t mix things up or remain interesting enough it could wear out its welcome. I get the feeling this will be a pretty hilarious show. My only hope going in though is that the humor can last and remain funny the whole way through.

Yuragi-sou no Yuuna-san

  • Air Date: 14 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Xebec
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Homeless and haunted by ghosts, high schooler Kogarashi thinks his luck has finally turned when he finds Yuragi-sou–a cheap boarding house that was formerly a hot springs inn, now full of super sexy, scantily clad female tenants. If Kogarashi can use his spirit abilities to banish the ghost that haunts the inn, he can even live there rent-free! But when the ghost, a beautiful teenage girl named Yuuna, appears before him, Kogarashi takes pity on her and is suddenly not so sure about the exorcism.

This could be goofy and enjoyable. I don’t really mind an ecchi comedy kind of show so long as it’s entertaining. The PV seemed pretty amusing and if that carries on then I could get some good laughs. At least this anime season isn’t devoid of comedy. It will depend of course if the main characters are a likable bunch. The setup isn’t too unusual, but with the right delivery this could be a fun one to follow.

Series of Mild Interest

And now for the shows that I’m not extremely hyped for, but still interested in talking about. Good shows I really like sometimes come out of this section. I just don’t know enough about these shows or don’t see enough from the previews to be excited yet. These shows have caught my eye though to the point that I’ll definitely check out those first episodes.

Overlord III

  • Air Date: 1 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Madhouse
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The third season of Overlord. - The final hour of the popular virtual reality game Yggdrasil has come. However, Momonga, a powerful wizard and master of the dark guild Ainz Ooal Gown, decides to spend his last few moments in the game as the servers begin to shut down. To his surprise, despite the clock having struck midnight, Momonga is still fully conscious as his character and, moreover, the non-player characters appear to have developed personalities of their own!

I never thought when the first season was announced that we’d be looking ahead to season 3. Honestly the first season was quite good and enjoyable. There was an interesting position taken with the main character being trapped in this non-human body and trying to maneuver through a tricky situation. Season 2 was kind of a step back for me. The quality was still up there, but I just found myself not liking the main cast as much. They went from kind of walking the line between decent characters and straight up villains, to just kind of straight up crossing that line into villainy. I need to be able to at least like the main cast. So I’m going into this season a bit unsure, but hoping I can enjoy it.

Zoids Wild

  • Air Date: 7 Jul 2018
  • Studio: OLM
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

A new series in the Zoids franchise

Honestly my hype isn’t through the roof on this one, but I really hope it can turn out to be ok. I’ve enjoyed a few series of Zoids anime over the years. Somehow the idea of people riding around in mechanical animals and engaging in fights seemed awesome growing up. This one kind of gives me the same feel as the latest Build Fighters series. The potential to be good, but something about the setup doesn’t leave me optimistic. This could be a show just not aimed for me.

Isekai Maou to Shoukan Shoujo no Dorei Majutsu

  • Air Date: 5 Jul 2018
  • Studio: Ajia-do
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

In the MMORPG Cross Reverie, Takuma Sakamoto is so powerful that he is lauded as the “Demon Lord” by other players. One day, he is summoned to another world – but with the same appearance he had in the game! There, he meets two girls who both proclaim themselves to be his Summoner. They had performed an Enslavement Ritual to turn him into their Summon... but that's when Takuma's passive ability <> activated! Instead, it was the girls who had become enslaved!

It is kind of fitting that this is taking place in the same season as an Overlord sequel. This just feels like what Overlord could have been if they wanted to play it up more as a pure comedy. I honestly hope this could turn out to be pretty fun since it certainly has some potential to be a bit generic if they don’t handle it well. Here’s hoping this could be another solid comedy for the season. A nice and sometimes silly fantasy adventure can certainly work.

Hataraku Saibou

  • Air Date: 8 Jul 2018
  • Studio: David Production
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The average human body contains about 60 trillion cells, and each of them has work to do! But when you get injured, viruses or bacteria invade, or when an allergic reaction flares up, everyone from the silent but deadly white blood cells to the brainy neurons has to work together to get through the crisis!

Somehow I shouldn’t be surprised that an anime about the inside of a person’s body would exist. We’ve seen movies that basically cover this kind of concept. And yeah this could be yet another comedy in a season that is kind of full of them. I’m not sure if this will be a great season, but apparently it will be a fairly funny one. There is a variety of adventures and crazy situations they could have unfold inside a person’s body.

Satsuriku no Tenshi

  • Air Date: 6 Jul 2018
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

13-year old Rachel awakens to find herself trapped in the basement of an abandoned building. Without any memories, or even a clue as to where she could be, she wanders the building, lost and dizzy. In her search, she comes across a man covered in bandages. He introduces himself as Zack and he wields a grim-reaper like sickle.

Well if nothing else the string of comedy’s in my preview is broken with this one…This could be either really frightening and good or really frightening and not so good XD. Quite the odd pair with this 13 year old amnesiac girl and a weird guy in bandages carrying a sickle. This could turn out to be ok though. They have characters trapped in this underground basement and they’ve got to find some way to get out. You can create some drama, tension, scares, etc with that kind of premise. If nothing else I’ll see how the first episodes turn out.

Closing Thoughts

This season isn’t completely bleak. For me though it is lacking top end shows that I’m hyped about. This could have some top notch shows in it, but I don’t know which those will be. Outside of the Fate/Extra story continuing I’m kind of left just curious to see what will happen this summer season. As always these previews are just my personal thoughts about the shows I’m most intrigued by going into the new season.

There are some oddities to be found this season. It has a fair number of comedies and also quite a few that fit under a horror genre. Some of those shows getting so darn weird/unsettling that they weren’t even on my radar for this kind of preview. I do think it is a very big salvation factor for me that Boku no Hero and Steins;Gate are carrying forward. Those two along with Fate/Extra picking up again should give me a handful of shows that I’m hyped to see each week.

Honestly this could be the season I’ve been least excited about in a few years. The carryovers and one show are basically the only hyped series I’ve got going on. The rest have some question marks or are shows I just don’t know enough about at this point to be too excited about them. But I think every season has a few positive surprises. So I’ll just be counting on those to catch me offguard.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.