Another season has passed and we’re heading into Summer. The Spring Season overall was a pretty good one. Most of the shows I was highly anticipating were either really good (Boku no Hero S2 and Natsume Roku) or just really solid (Zero and Granblue). Things got a bit more hit and miss for the shows I wasn’t looking forward to quite as much as those. I will say nothing quite surprised me with how much I wasn’t into the show as Sakurada Reset. There was just nothing in that show that could keep my interest. I did find myself willing to let go of more shows faster this spring season, but the top of the pack really held the whole season up.

Now we’re got Summer to consider. This isn’t a massive season for me. Most of what I’m highly anticipating are movies that may not even be watchable any time soon. But what is at the top is still pretty exciting for me. But, I can’t imagine that will be the case for everyone. I’ve basically been waiting for Symphogear to hit ever since they announced the fourth and fifth seasons back in February of last year. But, I really don’t know a lot about many of the shows hitting. That allows for a fair amount of surprise, but it makes the hype level going in a bit less extreme. In some ways this feels like a somewhat lean season. But, on the positive side Boku no Hero is continuing into the Summer. That alone gives me plenty to enjoy.

As always you can find the lists for this season and summaries I’ll be referencing from Livechart or Anichart. And as per the norm these are just my personal views. A lot of these shows I don’t know the source material for and am basing my views off summaries, preview videos, and just my gut feeling XD. If that works for everyone then let us continue!

Series of High Interest

The only place to start is with the shows I’ve got the highest expectations for. These are the shows that I’m either very confident in or very hopeful of.

Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ

  • Air Date: 2 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Satelight
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Yes

Fourth series of Senki Zesshou Symphogear, Two years ago, a pair of idols, Tsubasa Kazanari and Kanade Amou, collectively known as ZweiWing, fought against an alien race known as Noise using armor known as Symphogear. To protect a girl named Hibiki Tachibana, who got severely wounded by the Noise, Kanade sacrificed herself.

If we’re talking about highly anticipated series then Symphogear is right at the top for me. This is a franchise with some hit or miss seasons, but I find it remains an incredibly entertaining franchise. We’re heading into Season 4 with AXZ and Season 5 has already been confirmed. Symphogear creates a kind of unique mix that you just don’t get anywhere else. It is one part superhero series, one part magical girl series, one part idol/musical series, and another part action series. And yet it usually manages to balance all this pretty well.

There just aren’t a lot of shows where you have ladies fighting enemies while singing personal songs that power their weaponry. I’m hoping this series takes what has worked in the past and doesn’t take as much from what hasn’t. And I’m curious to see just how the first episode will compare to the last season.

Fate/Apocrypha

  • Air Date: 2 Jul 2017
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

There was once a Holy Grail War waged by Mages and Heroic Spirits in a town of Fuyuki. However, one Mage took advantage of the chaos of World War II to steal a Holy Grail. Several decades have passed, and the Yggdmillennia family, who took upon the Holy Grail as its symbol, defected from the Mages' Association. Furious, the Association sent forces to deal with the Yggdmillennia, but were defeated. With the Holy Grail system changed, war at an unprecedented scale breaks out.

That this is part of the Fate franchise is a good reason for why I’m highly anticipating it. This is one story I don’t know much about which makes it a much more fresh experience than other Fate series (for me). We’re getting away from the usual cast and meeting a lot of new Masters and Servants. The trailers look good and it seems like this should be a good action packed series. It can be both fresh and yet familiar since it is still taking place in that universe and using those familiar concepts. While I’m not sure if I’ll be blogging it next season, it is something I’m really looking forward to seeing.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now we get into the shows that could really go in different directions. There have been times when some of my favorite shows in a season come from this group. These are shows I’m just not as confident about, but I’m still fairly interested in. They are the shows I either don’t know anything about or those I didn’t have a ton of interest in the source material. If surprises are going to come from this summer season then it is likely to be from this group.

Katsugeki Touken Ranbu

  • Air Date: 2 Jul 2017
  • Studio: ufotable
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The year is 1863 as the tumultuous samurai era is coming to an end, Japan is split between the pro-shogunate and anti-shogunate factions. The fate of the world is threatened as an army of historical revisionists are sent from the future to alter the course of history. In order to bring these forces down and protect the real history, two sword warriors, spirits who are swords brought to life by Saniwa (sage), rush to Edo.

There are a few reasons I’m somewhat looking forward to this. For one you can usually count on ufotable to deliver a really good looking show. The plot sounds a bit odd with time travel and sword spirits. But we are likely to get some good looking samurai action. I’m not entirely sure how good it will be, but I’m definitely going to check out a few episodes.

Knight's & Magic

  • Air Date: 2 Jul 2017
  • Studio: 8bit
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

In the story, a Japanese mecha otaku dies in a car accident and his soul is reincarnated into another world as Ernesti Echevarria. Eru inherits memories and interests from his previous life, and aims to be a pilot of a Silhouette Knight, a large humanoid weapon that really exists in his world.

I’m always a little intrigued when it comes to mecha action. Plus this is also going to be mixing magic into it as well (obviously). The story is a bit weird, but I’m curious to see if they can make it work. This otaku dies and is reincarnated into this other world where he can kind of chase the dreams he had in his previous life. The trailer looks pretty good and the music selection seemed nice as well. This could fill my desire to see a good mecha series for the Summer.

Koi to Uso

  • Air Date: 4 Jul 2017
  • Studio: LIDENFILMS
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Lies are forbidden and love is doubly forbidden. In the near future, when young people in Japan turn sixteen, they are assigned a marriage partner by the government. People don't have to go through the trouble of looking for someone, and everyone accepts that the country will find a compatible partner to make them happy. Yukari Nejima is fifteen years old. He lives in a small corner of the country, and just can't seem to get ahead in life. Both academically and athletically he's below average.

The setup for this show has me kind of curious to see how it will play out. The premise is kind of crazy and certainly built to create drama, but if the show can make me buy into it then it might just work. A world where the government simply chooses your marriage partner is certainly built for romantic drama. Having a main character who will face the problem of falling in love himself and then clashing with what society is telling him to do.

I have no idea how that might play out since a regular guy isn’t going to have an easy time going against the established system. The show has my curiosity, but we’ll have to see if I’m really interested or not from the first few episodes.

Tenshi no 3P!

  • Air Date: 10 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Project No.9
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Nukui Kyou is a first year high school student hikikomori. His hobby is making vocaloid songs and uploading them online. One day he receives a mail from a fan asking if they could meet up with him. At the meeting place, 3 elementary school girls were waiting for him. The 3 of them want to form a band, and ask for Kyou's help.

The setup for this show sounds so amusing that I can’t help but want to at least see how it will turn out. A highschooler who is a shut-in ends up being recruited by a trio of elementary school girls who want to make a band and desire his help. It certainly looks and sounds like musical Ro-Kyu-Bu. Which makes sense since there is the studio connection and the light novels were written by the same author (Sagu Aoyama). I certainly wasn’t a huge fan of Ro-Kyu-Bu, but it was enjoyable. I’m moderately curious to see it just to find out if it will be an amusing show to watch. I fully expect some funny moments and some potentially awkward fanservice. Certainly not intention to blog it, but may watch it.

Series of Mild Interest

And so we’ve arrived at the shows that I’m just interested enough in to have something to say. Although this is hardly a parade of the damned. Good shows and ones I really like sometimes come out of this section. All this means is that I don’t have many expectations for these shows and they will have to surprise me. That can happen, but I’m not going to know at this point. So let us see what we’re getting into here and what shows might just catch me offguard.

Ballroom e Youkoso

  • Air Date: 9 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Production I.G
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Fujita has drifted through middle school aimlessly, unable to find friends or anything that can hold his attention. Then, one day, he's attacked by a gang and saved by a mysterious man. But this isn't a karate master; it's a ballroom dance instructor! Reluctantly, Fujita takes a few beginner's classes, only to find his inspiration... an entrancing, teenage dance prodigy named Shizuku. It's Fujita's first step into the high-octane world of competitive dance!

I’m not exactly a ballroom dancing person, but the previews look somewhat interesting. The show certainly has its own style. And if there is anything I’ve learned it is a lack of interest in a real sport/activity doesn’t mean the anime won’t be enjoyable. The setup seems pretty decent. Though the visual style is one that I might struggle to adapt to. While I don’t have high expectations for this show, I could end up watching it regularly.  A show about someone basically finding the place he belongs and what he wants to do can be a fun ride.

Isekai Shokudou

  • Air Date: 4 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

There is a secret in Nekoya. Every Saturday when the shop takes a day off, Nekoya is teeming full of special customers. With the jingling of the bell, it serves the rarest, most wonderous of delicious cuisine at the request of customers from all walks of life, upbringing, and ethnicity. For the Saturday customers or people from that world, it is nothing but cuisine never seen or heard before ... an Alternate-World Restaurant.

Well I can say that the premise is a bit curious. This cafeteria normally serving regular salarymen is opened on Saturday exclusively for people/creatures from different worlds. I have no idea if this is going to be an interesting show or just something entirely random. The concept of regular food being unusual cuisine to supernatural beings makes sense. Though I’m less sure how you make an interesting series out of that. Somehow the light novel managed it so I’ll at least check out the first episode. The concept has my slight attention, but there isn’t enough for me to make a firm opinion on it.

Princess Principal

  • Air Date: 9 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Studio 3Hz
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The "spy action" series follows five girls in 19th century London, a city within the Albion Kingdom divided into east and west by a large wall. The girls serve as undercover spies enrolled as students at the prestigious Queen's Mayfair school. The girls make use of their individual abilities to remain active in the underground world of disguise, espionage, infiltration, and car chases.

I am somewhat curious about this spy series with combat maids. I respect that the show has a certain style and is going all out for it. Though I’m not sure how into the show I’ll really get. If the action holds up and the characters are interesting enough then I could see myself following it. At the very least it is a pretty unique setup that stands out apart from some of the other shows we’re getting this season. And an original show that manages that deserves some recognition.

Netsuzou Trap

  • Air Date: 5 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Creators in Pack
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Yuma and Hotaru have been friends since childhood, so it's only natural that when Yuma is nervous about her new boyfriend, she asks Hotaru for advice. But when Hotaru starts coming onto Yuma for what feels like more than just 'practice,' what does it mean...? With boyfriends in the foreground but a secret, passionate tryst in the background, will Yuma and Hotaru try to forget what happened between them or have they fallen into a trap of true love and betrayal?

I read a few chapters of the manga for this and yet I’m still only mildly anticipating it. The kind of setup where you aren’t really sure if you want to keep following it or not XD. After all it is about two girls who are cheating on the guys they are dating. One of them I’d feel worse for than the other, but in the end it’s a questionable setup.

Honestly I haven’t really seen enough to be able to say whether this will be good or not. It’s all riding on how good the romance is between the two girls. If it’s enough to not feel bad for both guys in this equation then I’ll keep watching otherwise I may simply not follow it. Will also be a short series, so 10 minute episodes. Not sure if that will make it easier to watch or not.

Movies

This season I’m separating the movies I’m looking forward to. Simply because unlike regularly airing series there is less guarantee we’ll even be able to watch those in the Summer. But they are movies I’m looking forward to enough that I want to talk about them in this season preview.

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya: Sekka no Chikai

  • Air Date: 26 Aug 2017
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: 1
  • Blogging? Maybe

The only thing that can prevent catastrophe is a sacrifice worthy of the grail. The connection that lies between Miyu, Shirou, and Ainsworth will be told here.

It isn’t often that I’m referring to movies for these previews. Mostly since they very well might not be viewable out here until months or years later. But, this is a movie that I’m personally very excited about. While Symphogear and Fate have an unfamiliar side to what their stories will be about, this is something I know. While Silver Link honestly dropped the ball with 3rei, this movie could be a bounce back. Telling a contained part of the Fate/Kaleid story with the budget and time that a movie can give them. It will come down to pacing and whether they nail the visuals, but I’m hopeful.

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha: Reflection

  • Air Date: 22 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Seven Arcs Pictures
  • Episodes: 2
  • Blogging? Maybe

In the story, a pair of researchers stay behind on their dying planet of Eltria with their two daughters, Amitie and Kirie, in hopes of finding a way to revive the planet. But when the husband Granz falls ill it seems their dream of reviving the planet will die...Kirie sets off with her childhood friend Iris to seek help from a distant alternate world. They arrive in Japan on Earth to search for the key to their planet's regeneration. There, they meet Nanoha, Fate, and Hayate.

It really has been a long time since we’ve gotten to see a Nanoha based series…that focused on Nanoha. We’ve had Vivid and Vivid Strike, but basically nothing for Nanoha herself since StrikerS and even that had a kind of split focus. This is a movie I’m excited about since it does feel like we’re getting back to the franchise’s roots.

The look is very much similar to the previous Nanoha movies that focused on the first season and A’s. We’ve got a lot of new faces, but the core characters remain intact. Nanoha is just a classic franchise and I’m definitely up for more magical action.

No Game No Life -Zero-

  • Air Date: 15 Jul 2017
  • Studio: Madhouse
  • Episodes: 1
  • Blogging? Maybe

Six thousand years before Sora and Shiro were even a blink in the history of Disboard, war consumed the land, tearing apart the heavens, destroying stars, and even threatening to wipe out the human race. Amid the chaos and destruction, a young man named Riku leads humanity toward the tomorrow his heart believed in. One day, in the ruins of an Elf city, he meets Shuvi, a female exiled "Ex-machina" android who asks him to teach her what it means to have a human heart.

This is a movie that has me intrigued. It does seem to be a kind of historical retelling of what happened to the world of NGNL long before Sora/Shirou got involved. Though it is being told with the main cast being used as visual stand-ins for the players. Visually it looks really good. The story has potential since the war sounded pretty darn insane from the bits we heard about it in the main series. It could be a really emotional movie since there are no guarantees about who would actually survive such a story.

Closing Thoughts

In the end I’m really quite curious to see how this season will play out. All fingers are crossed that AXZ will be a huge bounce back for Symphogear. They have this and a fifth season already confirmed so they could play a much bigger game with the story. If that show can turn out well then the rest of the season won’t have to do much for me to consider it a success. I do have high hopes for Fate/Apocrypha, but we’ll have to wait and see how that turns out. The rest of the season is full of possibilities from some action series, to mecha series, to…maid spy thriller series XD. There is certainly an interesting mix of options going into the Summer.

This isn’t a season with a lot of guaranteed hits for me. It isn’t very far off in comparison to last summer as a whole. Although 3rei was a bit of a disappointment so if the shows I’m actually excited about deliver then this season could actually surpass last Summer. In the end Summer and Winter are kind of the weaker seasons in terms of the overall quantity of shows. It isn’t a surprise that this isn’t jam packed with series I’m hyped about. But there are some good ones in there and I’m always interested in seeing what might surprise me when a new season starts.

At this point there isn’t much that would keep me from covering Symphogear this season. That is as close to a lock as possible. Of course I’ll be continuing on with Boku no Hero Academia as well. Whether I pick up a third season will depend on how Fate turns out and what the rest of the season delivers to us.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.
  • Flower

    In describing Symphogear s4 you said “And I’m curious to see just how the first episode will compare to the last season.”

    Which means something like “can they surpass suplexing a space shuttle”, correct? XD

  • Killsqu4d

    None of these are really catching my eye. Is the Fate series too complicated or any good?

    • GreyLurker

      The Fate series are action eye candy. Seriously amazing fights between heroes of legend.
      The basics are pretty simple
      1) The Holy Grail will grant any wish
      2) Mages want the Holy Grail
      3) Each Mage summons a legendary hero from history or myth.
      4) they fight
      5) last man standing gets the Grail

      the rest of it grows out of how the characters interact with each other and their Heroic Servants. Apocrypha is a little different in that instead of a 7 man free-for-all it’s two teams of 7 for a total of 14 Heroic Servants, pulled from all over mytholgy and history.

      A lot of the fun is figuring out who some of the heroes are as most make a lot of effort to hide it as a tactical advantage (EX: if your hero was Achillies would you really want everyone to know that, and have them all aiming at his heel from the begining of every fight)

      • Killsqu4d

        So what’s the series to watch in chronological order?

        • GreyLurker

          The only two that are directly connected are Fate/Zero –> Fate/Stay Night and are generally considered the “Official” story. The rest stand independantly while sharing the base concepts.

          Fate/ Kalied Liner attaches the concept to a Magical Girl series while using alternate versions of characters from Fate/ Stay Night. Don’t let it fool you with the cuteness, it’s still a Fate series, has some amazing action and ultimately leads the the Grail War in it’s own way. HAs 3 seasons so far, a movie about to come out followed by another (probably final) season.

          Fate/Grand Order is a TV SPecial that ties into the phone game. Attaches the concept to time travel. The Movie is basically the video game’s prelude. From there the game has you jumping to different time periods, summoning lots of servants and fixing distortions to history caused by the Grail.

          The new Series Fate/ Apocrypha centers around a Mage civil war in which one side managed to steal the Grail but the other triggered a fail safe that starts this Team battle going.

          So the only two that are connected really are Zero followed by Stay Night (Both on Crunchyroll and Netflix). The rest I think you can watch as you please.

          • Killsqu4d

            So I could dive right into Unlimited Blade Works, no problem? What’s the continuity with that one?

          • GreyLurker

            Ack right, forgot that. Stay Night and Unlimited Blade Works are….kind of the same thing. I think Unlimited Blade Works is the more recent version. Kind of like Full Metal Alchemist vs. FMA Brotherhood. But yeah you should be fine. In fact that is probably the best choice to watch first, it’s pretty much the original Fate series.

            Fate/Zero is the Prelude to that

            So you can go Main story then Prelude or Prelude then Main story.

          • Killsqu4d

            Hmmm….interesting. You’d recommend it?

          • GreyLurker

            oh yes. The animation studio who worked on it is Ufotable and they do some amazing fight animation. It’s a good story thought it gets kind of dark.

            I went into the franchise with the Prelude first and then the Main series, most people recommend going Main story then Prelude. It’s a slightly different experience each way. The Prelude spoils a several of the secrets you’ll get in the main series but at the same time the main series refers back to the prelude several times particularly in the 2nd half.

          • Killsqu4d

            Cool. Thanks for the info!