The year continues on and Spring is just around the corner. Of course I will say that Winter has been a great deal of fun in terms of good anime so I’ll certainly miss a lot of the shows wrapping up. This season has been both busy and a lot of fun. Shows such as Fate/Grand Order: Babylonia and Boku no Hero Academia S4 are reaching their final episodes which has made things pretty entertaining. Especially when it comes to Fate/Grand Order since that show has been all kinds of incredible in the latter parts of the show. But it wasn’t just them. I had a great time watching Show By Rock!! Mashumairesh!! While, Healin’ Good♥Precure has been surprisingly good and given me more hope for that franchise. And Bofuri has been a legitimately fun show to follow.

This leads to the coming season ahead. I’ll still have Railgun T to enjoy and talk about so this isn’t a completely clean slate. But with shows ending it does allow me to at least pick up a new show. The preview will of course just cover some of the shows that have my attention. This is mostly just a good chance to talk about some hopes and expectations going into a new season. Not to mention I always get some nice insight on shows I know nothing about going in. Hopefully this gives people some things to think about before Spring and I’d be happy to hear about what shows others are excited to see.

As always will rely on LiveChart and AniChart for summaries and determining what we’re actually going to get a chance to watch.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. Odds are that is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. If these don’t turn out to be good that will be rather disappointing.

Kaguya-sama: Love is War S2

  • Air Date: 11 Apr 2020
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Yes

At the renowned Shuchiin Academy, Miyuki Shirogane and Kaguya Shinomiya are the student body's top representatives...They are the envy of the entire student body, regarded as the perfect couple. However, despite both having already developed feelings for the other, neither are willing to admit them. The first to confess loses, will be looked down upon, and will be considered the lesser. With their honor and pride at stake, Miyuki and Kaguya are both equally determined...

This is a sequel I expected to see, but was a bit nervous until it was officially announced. I haven’t seen many series that got the kind of love and care the first season of Kaguya-sama did. You could tell the people behind the show really cared about it. They added so much and made scenes that could have been stale or basic into truly fun episodes. Now we’ve got a second that should allow them to dive more into the main cast and continue to keep the story moving along. This should be one of the best shows of the year so yeah, I’m hyped.

Digimon Adventure

  • Air Date: 4 Apr 2020
  • Studio: Toei Animation
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The story begins in Tokyo when a large-scale network malfunction occurs. Taichi is preparing for his weekend summer camping trip when the incident happens. Taichi's mother and his younger sister Hikari get stuck on a train that won't stop moving, and Taichi heads to Shibuya in order to help them. However, on his way there, he encounters a strange phenomenon and sweeps him up into the Digital World along with the other DigiDestined.

This is a show I’m both excited about and afraid of. The original Digimon Adventure is one of my most nostalgic shows. I still remember watching the dub on TV and having a blast while watching it. Not sure what the earliest anime I ever saw was, but Digimon is one of the older ones. So here we are with this remake/re-imagining of the original. Something I’m ok with since at worst the original is still there. But after the Tri movies, I’m a bit uneasy about whether they can really nail it with this franchise or not. This is up there because I love this cast and that original story. For better or worse, I’m excited to see what happens.

BNA

  • Air Date: 1 Apr 2020
  • Studio: Trigger
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

In the 21st century, the existence of animal-humans came to light after being hidden in the darkness of history. Michiru lived life as a normal human, until one day she suddenly turns into a tanuki-human. She runs away and takes refuge in a special city area called "Anima City" that was set up 10 years ago for animal-humans to be able to live as themselves. There Michiru meets Shirou, a wolf-human who hates humans.

This is a show I’ve only got here based on a really enjoyable preview and an interesting summary. It doesn’t hurt that Trigger is behind this. But their shows can be hit or miss for me so that doesn’t guarantee anything. I honestly thought this was some animal sports show based on the preview image for the show. It just looks like a really cool show. And they could explore some interesting angles with the main character starting out human before the change. They can find out how to turn her back, find out if she was 100% human to start, explore the possible plots behind the scenes, etc. I’m definitely curious to see this one.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise.

Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld Part2

  • Air Date: 25 Apr 2020
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Despite the defeat of Quinella—the pontifex of the Axiom Church—things have not seemed to calm down yet. Upon contacting the real world, Kazuto "Kirito" Kirigaya finds out that the Ocean Turtle—a mega-float controlled by Rath—was raided. Due to a sudden short-circuit caused by the raiders, Kirito's fluctlight is damaged, leaving him comatose... However, tragedy strikes when Alice notices that the Dark Territory has already started to invade the Human Empire.

I enjoyed the story to this point so I’m in for the rest. It has had ups and downs, but it isn’t bad at all. The lack of Kirito in the war to this point has actually made it pretty interesting. And now things are really going at full speed so I’m curious to take in the remainder of the show. This isn’t at the highest mark since I don’t think it will be one of the best shows ever. But it should be a very solid and enjoyable series. SAO is a franchise that people love to hate. But for me it is just a decent franchise. So I’ll definitely tune in for another season even though there’s no chance I’ll actually cover it.

Tower of God

  • Air Date: 31 Mar 2020
  • Studio: Telecom Animation Film
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Reach the top, and everything will be yours. At the top of the tower exists everything in this world, and all of it can be yours. You can become a god. This is the story of the beginning and the end of Rachel, the girl who climbed the tower so she could see the stars, and Bam, the boy who needed nothing but her.

I remember reading the source material for this a long while back. Didn’t keep up with it though. It’s a pretty massive story though and I can’t imagine they plan on adapting all of it with this series. Part of me is curious to see if it will work better in an anime form and how they’ll handle various moments I can still remember. This is a show I want to at least check out if only from pure curiosity. Not the most common of settings either with it taking place within this mystical giant tower.

Jashin-chan Dropkick'

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2020
  • Studio: Nomad
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The demon Jashin-chan has been summoned to Earth by Yurine Hanazono, a girl with a knack for the occult. Unfortunately, Yurine does not actually know how to send Jashin-chan back to Hell. Now stuck on Earth, she must live at Yurine's apartment as her familiar. The only way for Jashin-chan to return would be to kill her summoner, but this is easier said than done for the incompetent demon. Since Jashin-chan is immortal and can regenerate her body, Yurine does not hold back in attacking her.

Jashin was a somewhat fun show back when the first season aired. It wasn’t anything super serious. I was kind of surprised even with the brutality Jashin suffers from in most episodes. Not that she doesn’t deserve a lot of it. They do a fair enough job making sure she is the type of character where you accept the treatment she gets. It won’t be a very deep show or anything. It will be just pretty goofy fun and that’s about it. But, I enjoyed it the first time around so I fully expect to watch and enjoy another season of it. Sign me up for that.

Fruits Basket: 2nd Season

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2020
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

After the accident in which she lost her mother, 16-year-old Tooru moves in with her grandfather, but due to his home being renovated, is unable to continue living with him. Tooru resorts to secretly living on her own in a tent in the woods...Upon arriving at the Souma house, Tooru discovers their secret: if a Souma is hugged by someone of the opposite gender, they temporarily transform into one of the animals of the zodiac!

Honestly others probably enjoyed the first part of this than I did. But I honestly still had a good time. So far I would say it was a pretty strong adaptation. Still pretty interesting going back to a story that has an old anime out there, but having it re-done with very nice quality. It will continue to bring the good moments, some emotional backstories, mystical elements with the transforming people, and of course the shoujo romance side of it. I’m not going to end up covering this show. But I am glad to see another season coming out for it.

Otome Game no Hametsu Flag shika Nai Akuyaku

  • Air Date: 4 Apr 2020
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

After hitting her head particularly hard one day, Duke Claes' daughter, Katarina, suddenly recalls all the memories of her past life: that of a teenage Japanese girl. Just before her untimely death, this girl recalls playing an otome game...She is now Katarina Claes, the antagonist of the otome game, who nastily hounded the protagonist until the end. Knowing all the possible outcomes of the game, she realizes that every single possible route ends with Katarina being murdered or exiled!

I’m not sure what to expect here. It has a setup that can either go fully comedic or very tense. In a sense it is an isekai, but that’s not the main point of it. This girl ends up finding herself in a situation much like an otome game she played (back when she was a girl on Earth). A situation where if she doesn’t handle things perfectly she’ll end up dead or banished. That’s a pretty serious issue she’s facing. But the trailer and the preview materials seem to lean more on the comedic side. I’m not much for reverse harems, but I’m curious. It could be a lot of fun watching her struggle to avoid terrible fates for herself. Where romance is actually the least of her worries with the stakes involved.

Conclusion

Spring is usually a strong season and I think it at least remains decent this year. There aren’t a huge amount of shows I’m beyond hyped for. But there are a fair amount of shows I’m interested in. We sadly can’t avoid acknowledging the world situation though. Even over the time I was writing this preview I saw shows being delayed to the Summer. Even though these shows appear set to actually air, we can only guess at what disruptions and delays between episodes are heading our way. Health and safety is the top priority. So all we can do is settle in and keep our fingers crossed.

Of course the hype is still there for a handful of shows. I’m easily most excited to see what we’ll get from Kaguya-sama. Not a surprise since it was in my top 3 of 2019. The odds are pretty high that I’ll be sticking with that show for Spring, but that’s not to count out the possibilities of Digmon, and BNA. As always there are bound to be too many shows I really enjoy that I just don’t have time to talk about.

So, hopefully this was a good look at the upcoming Spring season. I’m definitely curious to know what others are excited to see. Both from the shows that I already talked a bit about, and the ones that haven’t caught my interest to this point. Hopefully Spring is even better than it looks at this early junction. Some of the best shows are the ones that I didn’t expect to enjoy nearly that much.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About


Warning: Use of undefined constant user_description - assumed 'user_description' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/animeevo/public_html/wp-content/themes/aev5theme/single-preview.php on line 138
An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.