We head into another season and as one would expect Spring is going to have plenty of new shows to watch. It can be tough having to say goodbye to good shows while stepping into the uncertainty of a new season, but we can only continue forward. There is a fair amount of carryover with any season and this one is no different. It isn’t a bad position having the Shield Hero, Karakuri Circus, Jojo, Fairy Tail, Dororo, etc all carrying on into Spring. Some of them have been more enjoyable than others, but overall I’d say they are all still shows worth watching and I’ll be keeping an eye on them even when the new shows drop on us.

The same as any other season I’ll be making this preview to talk a bit about the shows that are on my personal radar. I have no doubt that shows others may like or be hyped about won’t be on this list. But all I can do is talk about the shows that have caught my eye. Whether they have my attention because of source material, previous seasons, or just a really good preview trailer these are the shows I’m most interested in at the start of the Spring season. In the end it is just a personal breakdown.

As always will rely on LiveChart and AniChart for summaries and determining what we’re actually going to get a chance to watch to start off 2019.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. That is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. I’m counting on these to be good.

Sewayaki Kitsune no Senko-san

  • Air Date: 10 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Doga Kobo
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The everyday life of Nakano, a salaryman working for an exploitative company, is suddenly intruded upon by the fox, Senko-san (800-year-old little girl). Whether it be cooking, cleaning, or special service(?)... she'll heal his exhaustion with her tender "care."

This is the one show I’m extremely hyped for going into the Spring season. This is one case where I’m familiar with the source material and have all the reason in the world to be excited. It should be a very pleasant and heartwarming show where a mystical fox appears to help heal and restore a single overworked individual. Her reasons and motive will be covered by the show so no need to jump into that here. A tale of two people starting to live together and the natural growth you’d expect from that kind of situation. It will be a mostly light show with some focus on the male lead’s difficult and overworked lifestyle. Senko is an adorable character and I’m glad to see her animated. She makes this easily the show I want to see the most.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise sometimes.

Shoumetsu Toshi

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Madhouse
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

One day, a city suddenly disappears. Takuya, a professional by-the-contract courier and lone wolf, meets Yuki, the only survivor from the city's extinction. The two rely on a message from Yuki's father, who was heard to be missing, and head toward the disappeared city, Lost. However, unexpected obstacles strike before the pair, with the reality especially shocking for Yuki.

This is a show where most of the excitement came from the first PV I saw for it. It created the atmosphere of a pretty focused adventure of two people trying to unravel the truth about a pretty extreme situation. Being based on a phone game doesn’t mean a lot positive or negative, but it just means I have no knowledge about the source material in this case. Madhouse has done a lot of great stuff over the years so there is some optimism to be had based on studio. This looks like a show that should provide some drama and action. In terms of gut feelings this one has me hopeful that it will be surprisingly good.

Diamond no Ace: Act II

  • Air Date: 2 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Madhouse
  • Episodes: 52
  • Blogging? No

Picking up the next year after the end of the fall tournament, Seidou High School baseball team battle it out with new and old faces as they begin their tournament run at Koshien.

Another Madhouse production for the season, but one that is a great deal more familiar. We get to continue on the baseball adventures of the Seidou team and the struggle of Sawamura to try and rise up and become the Ace of his team. The obvious description for this show is a baseball anime. We can expect to continue seeing how a team of characters grows and tries to rise to the top. One good thing is that the cast is pretty fun and the first season did a great job making the baseball feel intense. Baseball probably works pretty well for anime anyways since it is a lot of 1v1 ‘battles’ between the pitcher and the batter. Consistency between seasons should remain the same as it appears the director of the first season will be back.

Senryuu Shoujo

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Connect
  • Episodes: 12
  • Blogging? Maybe

Yukishiro Nanako is a cute, cheerful high school girl with one peculiar trait—instead of verbal communication, she writes senryuu (a type of haiku) poems to relay her thoughts. Together with ex-delinquent Busujima Eiji, they are budding freshmen of the school's Literature Club. Even though Nanako doesn't talk, with the power of senryuu, the adorable pair has no problem enjoying their fun school-life through the tune of 5-7-5 syllables.

This looks to be an extremely cute and upbeat show. The previews really helped create a fun atmosphere. There is no lack of quirkiness with the main duo of this show. We’ve got an upbeat and cute girl that only communicates through senryuu poems and a former delinquent. Heck I’m curious to check this show out just to figure out how these two ended up hanging out. Maybe they were friends before he went delinquent, but we’ll have to wait to find out. The characters seem fun, the voice acting sounds top notch, and the visuals seemed perfectly acceptable. Connect is a studio I mostly only know for doing everything involved Strike the Blood so if this takes a random turn into a short action anime I won’t be too shocked XD.

Strike Witches: 501-butai Hasshin Shimasu!

  • Air Date: 10 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Production I.G.
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The story follows the silly everyday lives of the members of the 501st unit, as they cook and clean and do other everyday tasks when there's a lull in the Neuroi attacks.

This is another one where I mostly know what to expect. It is a short-type anime focusing on the Strike Witches cast doing their daily tasks between neuroi attacks. In a sense it basically is a regular season of Strike Witches just minus the action scenes. So I fully expect a lot of training, cleaning, cooking, and probably a ton of bath scenes. The familiar cast of Strike Witches are a quirky bunch and I have no doubt a satisfying short series can be made just focusing on the non-combat stuff. It probably won’t be the best show of the season for me, but it should be a good dose of fun from week to week.

Fairy Gone

  • Air Date: 8 Apr 2019
  • Studio: P.A. Works
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The story takes place in a world where fairies possess and dwell in animals, giving them mysterious abilities. By removing the organs of a possessed animal and transplanting them into humans, fairies can be summoned as an alter ego and be used as a weapon. Such individuals who used fairies as war tools were called "Fairy Soldiers." Once the war was over and they completed their roles, the soldiers lost their purpose.

This show feels like a good pick for some crazy action. You have people who can effectively turn into monsters and the story is going to follow a crime suppression organization. Thus we can expect a lot of fights between criminals who can turn into monsters and more or less police who can do the same thing. The setting itself sounds rather interesting. Human weapons were created in order to fight a war, but eventually the war did indeed end. Now we get to follow the aftermath of those wartime decisions. This isn’t exactly an unique setup, but it is one that can work extremely well. It all comes down to the story. Fingers crossed that P.A. Works does a good job.

Nande Koko ni Sensei ga!?

  • Air Date: 8 Apr 2019
  • Studio: tear-studio
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

17-year-old Ichirou Satou is an average teenager who always happens to find himself in perverted situations with his teacher, Kana Kojima. Follow this erotic love comedy about their mishaps throughout their daily lives and how Ichirou and Kana choose to handle them.

I’ll admit this is probably going to end up as one of those guilty pleasure shows. The setup for this series is pretty straight forward. You have a variety of teacher/student pairs that continue to get into rather extreme and awkward situations together. As time goes on and the pairs continue to get caught up in sometimes ridiculous situations, their personal relationships grow stronger. The summary mentions the first and major pair, but as one can tell from promotional images it goes well beyond one pair. This isn’t going to be a harem, but a series of distinct pairs of characters. It isn’t likely to be anything too special, but it could be a good source of ridiculous humor.

Fruits Basket

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2019
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

After a family tragedy turns her life upside down, 16-year-old high schooler Tooru Honda takes matters into her own hands and moves out into a tent! Unfortunately for her she pitches her new home on private land belonging to the mysterious Souma clan, and it isn't long before the owners discover her secret. But as Tooru quickly finds out when the family offers to take her in, the Soumas have a secret of their own‚ when hugged by the opposite sex, they turn into the animals of the Chinese Zodiac!

This is a show that surprised me when announced. I just didn’t expect a new adaptation of Fruits Basket. The first adaptation coming out way back in 2001 and it has certainly gained status as a classic anime. I honestly can’t remember if I did see the entirety of the original series, but I’m confident I didn’t read the manga. It is a classic, but one I’m not hugely familiar with. This does appear to be a great opportunity to follow the story from start to finish though. I’m not beyond hyped like some since I just wasn’t that into the original adaptation and so I’m going in somewhat blind. But it should be worth checking out and may honestly be the top show of the season if they handle it well.

Kimetsu no Yaiba

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2019
  • Studio: ufotable
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Since ancient times, rumors have abounded of man-eating demons lurking in the woods. Legend has it that a demon slayer also roams the night, hunting down these bloodthirsty demons. For young Tanjirou, these rumors will soon to become his harsh reality...Ever since the death of his father, Tanjirou has taken it upon himself to support his family..But that ephemeral warmth is shattered one day when Tanjirou finds his family slaughtered and the lone survivor, his sister Nezuko, turned into a demon.

Here’s a show that could definitely bring some exciting action. I’d say ufotable is a studio that you can’t help but want to check to see what they are working on next. The setting for this series could come together very nicely. You have a main character who already had a great deal of weight on his shoulders with his father passing away before the show started. Then life just decides to kick him down even more by having the rest of his family minus his sister be killed and even she’s turned into a demon. I’m curious to see the journey Tanjirou has to go through in order to avenge his family and try to turn his sister back to normal. That alone should be rather compelling. Fingers crossed that this show can deliver on the action and the characters.

Series of Mild Interest

Here are the shows that I’m not too hyped for, but still interested in talking about. Good shows I really like sometimes come out of this section. I just don’t know enough about these shows or don’t see enough from the previews to be excited yet. At the very least I’ll definitely check out those first few episodes.

Kono Yo no Hate de Koi wo Utau Shoujo YU-NO

  • Air Date: 2 Apr 2019
  • Studio: feel.
  • Episodes: 26
  • Blogging? No

Takuya Arima is a young student whose father, a historian who has conducted various researches, disappeared recently. During a summer vacation Takuya receives a peculiar package from his missing father, along with a letter containing information about the existence of various parallel worlds. At first Takuya doesn't take it seriously, but soon he realizes that he possesses a device that allows him to travel to alternate dimensions. Is his father alive, after all? If so, where is he?

Here comes another show where the focus is going to be on parallel worlds. This one does look fairly serious and set to go down a dramatic path. You have a student who will be starting on a journey to find his missing father and will likely wander through various worlds trying to find him. I’m curious to see how the story will play out and how the various parallel worlds will differ. Will they be extreme differences or simply more subtle? At the very least the setup sounds like one that could work really well. It depends on how likable the main character is and what kind of people (or different versions of them) that he runs into along the way. I’ll at least check out the first few episodes to see how it turns out.

Ao-chan Can’t Study!

  • Air Date: 6 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

When Ao was in kindergarten, she smiled ear-to-ear as she told her classmates how her father (a bestselling erotic author) chose her name: "A as in apple and O as in orgy!" That day still haunts her ten years later as she studies with a single goal in mind: get into an elite university and achieve independence from her father once and for all. She has no youth to misspend and no time to think about boys ... until her classmate, "King Normie" Kijima, approaches her with a shocking confession.

This season doesn’t appear to be lacking in ecchi comedy options. Just from the summary I really feel for the main girl of this show. Her father has really left an impact on her that she isn’t all that happy about. The setup could lead to a lot of fun scenes. You have a girl who wants to focus on her education and hurry to grow up so she can get away from the influence of her father. But she’s also got someone who has confessed to her and whom I presume she doesn’t hate. But at the same time the influence of her father has left its mark and it is messing with her mind. It could be fun watching someone at war with themselves. I’m not sure how good it will be, but the comedy might work.

Kenja no Mago

  • Air Date: 10 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

A young man who had surely died in an accident was reborn in another world as a baby! After that, he was picked up by the patriot hero "Sage" Merlin Wolford and was given the name Shin. He was raised as a grandson by Merlin and soaked up Merlin's teachings earning him some shocking power however, when he became 15 his grandfather Merlin said: "I forgot to teach him common sense"!

I’ll admit that this isekai setup sounds particularly odd to me. A person died in our world and is reborn as an infant in another world. Once you get to that point I wonder why it even needs to be an Isekai show rather than just a pure fantasy series. The summary honestly only somewhat grabs my attention and thus why it is in this tier. You have some supernatural teen with no common sense. I’m sure it will all be played for laughs and thus the key for the show is whether the humor is going to work or not. If it can be funny with some crazy magic being shown off now and then it might be a solid show. I’m just not that sure what to expect going into this light novel adaptation.

Gunjou no Magmel

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2019
  • Studio: Studio Pierrot
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

One day in the middle of the pacific ocean a miracle occurred, a new continent appeared out of nowhere! The new continent was the home for new and mysterious plants, creatures and minerals! Humanity is excited as the age of exploration has returned.

This show may provide some of the most straight up action of the season. You’ve got a mysterious continent appearing out of nowhere and the PV shows the main characters gaining some sort of strange black lightning powers. So we may have supernatural characters fighting off against weird and random creatures inhabiting this new frontier. I’m not sure based on what I’ve seen if the characters will be interesting or if the story will be strong. But at the very least it should have some entertaining action and that might be enough to carry it. This is starting low on my expectations list, but it could rise up as the season goes along.

Conclusion

This isn’t a bad season by any stretch. I will admit this isn’t a season that I’m extremely hyped for either though. There are only a handful of shows I’m familiar with the previous seasons of or the source material. And some shows I just didn’t keep interest in past their first season and thus I’m just not interested enough to include them in such a season preview. I’ll be perfectly honest in saying that the coming Summer and Fall seasons already have more that I’m beyond hyped to see than Spring. But at the same time I do think this season has the potential to surprise me. There is a good mixture of comedy, slice of life, action and just purely cute shows. We are getting a remake of a classic in Fruits Basket. A number of previews have at least caught my interest.

It is a shame to lose some great shows that are ending from Winter. I’ll personally be missing Kaguya-sama and hope that series gets another season sooner than later. But room has to be made for new shows. Spring has a ton of shows that I think might be fun. It simply doesn’t have a ton of shows I’m certain will be great. But that’s the way it goes. Not every season will have a mountain of shows that appeal to everyone. I’m certain there are shows that didn’t interest me and thus aren’t on this preview that others have as their most anticipated. That’s perfectly fine. From a personal standpoint I do hope there are enough great shows that will carry us forward across the next few months.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.