In some ways the past Winter Season worked out as I expected it to. It wasn’t a mindblowing season, but rather a bit mild with some rather strong shows mixed into it. It was more of the standard Winter Season you might expect from season’s past rather than the all-star level one we got last year. It wasn’t completely lacking though. I have and continue to enjoy what Little Witch Academia has been offering and glad it will be continuing straight into the Spring Season. Ao no Exorcist had a surprisingly strong season and told a good story. There were expected laughs from Konosuba 2 and a visual spectacle in Tales of Zestiria the X 2nd Season. As a whole I really can’t complain much about a season that did have some good shows in it.

Now spring is looking really good from my point of view. We seem to have a good mix of shounen series, some emotional ones, comedy, romance, fantasy, and even sci-fi. This time around we have the return or next stage for older franchises (such as Boruto), adaptations of light novels, and some original series. Spring and Fall tend to be some of the stronger seasons and my fingers are crossed that this will be exactly the kind of season we can expect from Spring. There are a couple almost guaranteed quality shows and a lot of series I don’t know a lot about. That should allow for a fair amount of surprises. If all the shows I expect to turn out well do and we get some high quality surprises then I won’t be able to complain much.

As always you can find the lists for this season and summaries I’ll be referencing from Livechart or Anichart. And as per the norm these are just my personal views. A lot of these shows I don’t know the source material for and am basing my views off summaries, preview videos, and just my gut feeling XD. If that works for everyone then feel free to read on.

Series of High Interest

The only place to start is with the shows I’ve got the highest expectations of. These are the shows that I’m either very confident in or very hopeful of.

Boku no Hero Academia 2nd Season

  • Air Date: 1 Apr 2017
  • Studio: BONES
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Yes

Izuku has dreamt of being a hero all his life—a lofty goal for anyone, but especially challenging for a kid with no superpowers. That’s right, in a world where eighty percent of the population has some kind of super-powered “quirk,” Izuku was unlucky enough to be born completely normal. But that’s not going to stop him from enrolling in one of the world’s most prestigious hero academies.

This was just a given to be in my highly anticipated section. I really enjoyed talking about the first season and I expect no less fun from season 2. All the more so since this is looking to be a 2-cour season which means…a lot more content being covered. This is one of the rare shows for the Spring Season where I do know the source material and for that reason have high expectations. But part of those expectations come from Bones doing such a good job. If they maintain the quality from the first season this will be one of the best shows for me coming out of spring.

Natsume Yuujinchou Roku

  • Air Date: 11 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Shuka
  • Episodes: 11
  • Blogging? Yes

The 6th season of Natsume's Book of Friends. The series follows Natsume Takashi, a boy who is able to see youkai. Natsume and his bodyguard Nyanko-sensei continue on their quest to release youkai from their contracts in the Book of Friends. Natsume comes to terms with his ability to see youkai and stops thinking of it as a curse. As he spends more time with his human and youkai friends, he realizes how much he values them both and decides he doesn't have to choose between both worlds.

Yet another show that is almost guaranteed quality. It has not been very long since the last season of Natsume and I’m still glad to have it back. This is a franchise that has a remarkable ability to maintain high quality through almost every episode in every season. We know Natsume is going to continue his slow but steady character development and we know there will be a lot of emotional moments. It is a very episodic franchise, but one where there is continuity through the development of Natsume and his connections to those around him. I’m curious to see which side characters get focus in this season and what new characters will be introduced. This is easily one of my most anticipated shows for the year.

Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho

  • Air Date: 10 Apr 2017
  • Studio: White Fox
  • Episodes: 12
  • Blogging? Maybe

The "grimoire fantasy" series follows a witch named Zero who is ignorant of the world and a half-beast half-human mercenary who longs to be human. Witches who practice sorcery exist in the world, however, in this era no one knows how about the art and study of witchcraft. Zero is going on a journey to search for a magical tome called "The Book of Zero" that hides a power that can destroy the world. The mercenary travels with her as her guard.

Something about this show really caught my eye from the premise and the PVs released to this point. It isn’t often you have a show where one of the main characters really isn’t human. Instead the male lead is this half-human mercenary who gets involved with a witch who is seeking a stolen tomb. The main character seems like an interesting guy, being someone who does want to become human. And the other lead Zero sounds like someone who will be amusing to watch. White Fox has done some nice work over the past few years. Visually shows like Soushin Shoujo Matoi or Re:Zero have stood out in a good way and they’ve shown a willingness to do what is needed for a strong adaptation. From the PV can say the show looks good and the music seems on point. We’ll see how it turns out.

Granblue Fantasy the Animation

  • Air Date: 2 Apr 2017
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

This is a world of the skies, where many islands drift in the sky. A boy named Gran and a talking winged lizard named Vyrn lived in Zinkenstill, an island which yields mysteries. One day, they come across a girl named Lyria. Lyria had escaped from the Erste Empire, a military government that is trying to rule over this world using powerful military prowess. In order to escape from the Empire, Gran and Lyria head out into the vast skies, holding the letter Gran's father left behind.

This is kind of cheating since the first couple episodes were released this Winter. But in that sense it made for a great preview for Granblue. It looks to be a solid fantasy series based on the RPG mobile franchise. The visual style was distinct and at the very least worked for me. I like the idea of having a nice mix of swords and magic that we don’t see a lot these days. Of course even this preview has another show like that, but it is just refreshing to see fantasy anime that aren’t just about going inside a video game. The main characters seem good and I’m curious to see where it will go. I expect to fully enjoy this one and enjoy the journey through the sky. There is just something about sky islands that is fun to imagine and I really hope this turns out well.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now we get into the shows that could really go in different directions. There have been times when some of my favorite shows in a season come from this group. These are shows I’m just not as confident about, but I’m still fairly interested in. They are the shows I either don’t know anything about or those I didn’t have a ton of interest in the source material. If surprises are going to come from this winter season then it is likely to be from this group.

Renai Boukun

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2017
  • Studio: EMT²
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

A Kiss Note is a powerful notebook that makes anyone who has their name written together will instantly fall in love if they kiss each other regardless of any circumstances. This magical and very familiar item belongs to an angel named Guri. However, she accidentally writes down Aino Seiji, a regular high school student, and unless he kisses someone, Guri will die. She convinces Seiji to go kiss his crush, Hiyama Akane, the school's popular girl who turns out has even stronger feelings for him.

There is just something fun about this show that has me moderately excited about it. It looks to be an enjoyable romantic comedy. I don’t expect much from the male lead, he seems like a standard protagonist in this kind of setting. But I think the chaos that surrounds him could be fun to watch. The angel Guri who decides she likes him and the yandere Akane should be the core of the hilarity in this show. Guri looking to be near immortal and able to survive the crazy stuff that Akane does to try and keep the guy she likes all for herself. It doesn’t look to be very deep or complicated, but might just be pretty fun.

Shingeki no Kyojin Season 2

  • Air Date: 1 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Wit Studio
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Eren Jaeger swore to wipe out every last Titan, but in a battle for his life he wound up becoming the thing he hates most. With his new powers, he fights for humanity’s freedom facing the monsters that threaten his home. After a bittersweet victory against the Female Titan, Eren finds no time to rest—a horde of Titans is approaching Wall Rose and the battle for humanity continues!

The titans are back and we can expect a lot of death to follow them. This is a franchise that overall I enjoy, but can sometimes be a bit too crazy even for me. I expect another well animated show from Wit Studio. I’m curious to see where the story will go in the second season with the first ending on a pretty intense battle. I’m just moderately excited about this one. I hope that characters I like will come out of it alive, but you never know unless we’re talking about the MC Eren, Mikasa, and probably Armin. This should be a good show if they maintain the quality from S1.

Sakurada Reset

  • Air Date: 5 Apr 2017
  • Studio: David Production
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Nearly half the population of Sakurada, has some sort of unique power. There is a group known as the "Kanrikyoku" that controls and monitors the use of these powers. Asai Kei and Haruki Misora work for their school's club called "Houshi" club, which execute any missions received from the Kanrikyoku. Misora has the ability to reset the world 3 days. This means that all events and any memory of the past 3 days that "could have" happened, never happened. Kei has the ability to "remember" the past.

The concept of this series sounds interesting to me. A duo with the power to rewind time and remember the events from that lost time. It kind of has me intrigued since the powers are split between two people. One person can rewind events, but only the other person will know what happened. I’m curious if this will just be a show where this duo go around solving cases and living their school lives as best they can. Visually the show looks decent and I’m curious to see what kind of problems these two (and those around them) run into.

Clockwork Planet

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Xebec
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Everyone on the Clockwork Planet considers Naoto Miura a machinery nut. Every moment of every day, he has his mind on gears and his hands tinkering with delicate mechanical motors, but nobody understand how he can hear and feel gears in operation, even from a long distance away. Then one day, a clockwork maiden falls from the sky, presaging events that would shake the whole world...

Something about this premise and what PVs I’ve seen has me interested. It seems like this could be a solid sci-fi series. Doesn’t hurt that this is coming from the author of No Game No Life. That is a series I really enjoyed the anime for, although I certainly expect a different kind of show with this premise. It seems like the story could do some good things with the cast revealed so far. There isn’t a lot I know about the source material here so this is really just going on gut feeling from what has been revealed and the summary.

Alice to Zouroku

  • Air Date: 2 Apr 2017
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

A group of young girls possess a mysterious power known as "Alice's Dream," which gives them the ability to turn their thoughts into reality. Detained and experimented upon, these youths are locked away in secret until one of them manages to escape. Her name is Sana—a girl with the power to ignore the very laws of physics. When this willful powerhouse crosses paths with a stubborn old man named Zouroku, his carefully-ordered life will never be the same again.

This seems like a setup that could be either great or not work at all. On one side we have the young girl with incredible powers, but has been locked away and experimented on. And on the other the stubborn old man. She’ll probably bring some chaos and he’ll bring some stability. If it works this show will probably work around the two of them helping each other move towards the middle and create a familial bond. The PV looked good and gives me the feeling this could be a nice mix of the fantastic and the mundane.

Series of Mild Interest

And so we’ve arrived at the shows that I’m just interested enough in to talk about XD. Although this is hardly a show of the damned. Good shows and ones I really like sometimes come out of this section. All this means is that I don’t have many expectations for these shows and they will have to surprise me. That can happen, but I’m not going to know at this point. So let us see what we’re getting into here and what shows might just catch me offguard.

Sword Oratoria

  • Air Date: 15 Apr 2017
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Sword princess Aiz Wallenstein. Today, once again, the strongest female swordsman heads to the giant labyrinth known as the "Dungeon" along with her allies. Aiz calls for the wind and heads deeper into the darkness of the Dungeon. Eventually, she finds herself meeting a boy for the first time. In the Labyrinth City of Orario, the contrasting stories of the boy and the girl intersect!

Honestly the summary for this show sounds like it is to DanMachi what Railgun was to Index. A spinoff focusing on a major and popular female character from the main novels. Whether it will turn out to be as enjoyable as Railgun is hard to tell. I will admit that the start of DanMachi had me interested early on though at certain points I did start to lose interest in where the story was going. I can’t really say Aiz Wallenstein was my favorite character from DanMachi, but who knows maybe a show focused on her side of the story might be interesting. This is in the mild category since I’m not really sure how well Aiz is going to be able to carry this show.

Boruto: Naruto Next Generations

  • Air Date: 5 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Studio Pierrot
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Naruto was a young shinobi with an incorrigible knack for mischief. He achieved his dream to become the greatest ninja in the village and his face sits atop the Hokage monument. But this is not his story... A new generation of ninja are ready to take the stage, led by Naruto's own son, Boruto!

Honestly, Naruto was one of the early shows I remember watching when I was younger. It was a franchise that started off on the right foot with good characters, solid animation, and it told its story well. Then of course as time went on it became overrun with filler and the story kind of lost my interest down the road. Now we have Boruto (yeah, that’s the name they went with) picking up the torch and starting his own adventure. Will the son of Naruto have a solid and enjoyable franchise of his own? I have no idea. It sounds like they will be basically going in their own direction since there certainly isn’t enough manga to work with here. That could be hit or miss. It does let them act freely without having to stay under a source material, but it could be a mess since Naruto fillers weren’t often the best of things. If this can catch what made the start of the original series work so well (teamwork and tone) then maybe it will be good. But I don’t have high expectations at this early stage.

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka?

  • Air Date: 11 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Satelight
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Five hundred years have passed since the humans went extinct at the hands of the fearsome and mysterious 'Beasts'. Only a small group of young girls, the Leprechauns, can wield the ancient weapons needed to fend off invasions from these creatures. Into the girls’ unstable and fleeting lives, where a call to certain death could come at any moment, enters an unlikely character: a young man who lost everything in his final battle, the last living human awakened from a long, icy slumber.

This is basically in the mild category…since I don’t have much other than a summary and concept art to work from! If nothing else this show stands out for having the longest title I’ve seen for a show in a while. The concept has some potential. Humanity is gone and only this race of Leprechauns (probably more adorable than the ones we are normally familiar with) are left holding their ground. And of course there is one human left who awakens hundreds of years after his people have fallen. Now I’m not sure if this is going to turn into a generic harem, or if it will do something really interesting with the concept. A lot of that may ride on the main character. Will this guy act like someone who has been through hell and lost his very race? The summary sounds like it, but we’ll have to see. If done well this could be a big surprise for the season.

Berserk (2017)

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Millepensee, GEMBA
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Spurred by the flame raging in his heart, the Black Swordsman Guts continues his seemingly endless quest for revenge. Standing in his path are heinous outlaws, delusional evil spirits, and a devout child of god. Even as it chips away at his life, Guts continues to fight his enemies, who wield repulsive and inhumane power, with nary but his body and sword—his strength as a human. What lies at the end of his travels? The answer is shrouded in the "night." Strain your eyes and stare into the dark!

I thought this deserve a little nod. The Berserk anime from last season was covered by Setsuken and its issues were well discussed. This isn’t going to be a show that looks very good. I’m not often sold on full CG anime in the first place, and even in that regard this isn’t the best looking one. But it does stand out among the other shows in terms of the story and tone. It’s going to be a pretty bleak anime set in a world that seems a hairs-breath better than actual hell.  If nothing else we’ll get to see Guts continue to utterly rip apart some horrifying monsters. I don’t think it will remotely be my favorite show of the season, but I’m a little curious to see it.

Eromanga-sensei

  • Air Date: 9 Apr 2017
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The "new sibling romantic comedy" revolves around Masamune Izumi, a light novel author in high school. Masamune's little sister is Sagiri, a shut-in girl who hasn't left her room for an entire year. Masamune's novel illustrator, pen name "Eromanga", draws extremely perverted drawings, and is very reliable. Masamune had never met his illustrator, and figured he was just a disgusting, perverted otaku. However, the truth is revealed… that his "Eromanga-sensei" is his own younger sister!

So the next story from the author of Oreimo has arrived. At least this time he’s being pretty darn open that it will be a romance between siblings (well step-siblings)…I’m mostly curious to see how this will differentiate itself from Oreimo. The main girl seems to be a different kind of otaku than Kirino was, but still one. The idea of a brother/sister light novel writing team has some potential. I don’t get the feeling from the PV that it will be great, but it might be an interesting watch. Maybe going into this one expecting the obvious ship might make it more enjoyable? If nothing else will give it a few episodes and see what happens.

Re:Creators

  • Air Date: 8 Apr 2017
  • Studio: TROYCA
  • Episodes: 22
  • Blogging? Maybe

Humans have created many stories. Joy, sadness, anger, deep emotion. Stories shake our emotions, and fascinate us. However, these are only the thoughts of bystanders. But what if the characters in the story have "intentions"? To them, are we god-like existences for bringing their story into the world? Our world is changed. Mete out punishment upon the realm of the gods. In Re:CREATORS, everyone becomes a Creator.

The concept for this show has me curious to see how it will turn out. It isn’t a bad premise with characters leaving works of fiction and coming into our world. The characters in the stories made by people having a will of their own could make for an interesting series. It seems like characters will be popping into reality and things aren’t going to be peaceful and quiet when that happens. It could get crazy when you consider characters who suffered tragedies and might blame “the gods” who wrote their stories for that. If nothing else it looks to be an action packed series that could turn out well. I just don’t know enough at this point to be more than mildly excited about it.

Hinako Note

  • Air Date: 7 Apr 2017
  • Studio: Passione
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Hinako is a shy little girl whom animals are instinctively drawn to. Because of this, Hinako works as a scarecrow to keep said animals away from the crops in her neighbors fields. Thus the tale of the scarecrow girl begins!

This looks like a show that could be either weirdly fun or just plain weird. You have a main character who is a bit shy and strangely….has animals drawn to her like a magnet. In the end this kind of show is going to sink or swim based on the characters and their interactions. If the main cast is good and fun to watch it will be fine. It was hard to tell from the PV I saw whether it will manage that. I don’t have high expectations for this, but if there are laughs to be gained then that will do.

Closing Thoughts

If nothing else there are a lot of possibilities coming out of this season for me. A fair number of shows that either have summaries I find intriguing or previews that have me partially excited. I hope that the shows I’m highly anticipating turn out to be hits and that LWA continues the quality we got from the first half of the story. But what will make or break this season is the surprise factor. There are a lot of shows that from the summaries sound interesting, but I don’t know if they actually will be. I fully invite the Spring Season to try and catch me off-guard on a few of those.

 

It seems like this season will have a bit of everything. From the shounen action of Boku no Hero to the soft emotional moments of Natsume. At this point in time I’m actually pretty excited for Spring. It doesn’t have a ton of the shows I’m most excited for this year, but it has a few of them and enough possible surprises. One good thing about not knowing a lot of the source materials is that I can go into them with a fresh eye. I’m curious to hear what other people are excited about this season and hope we all get something good to enjoy. Not every season will be packed for every person, but I always hope that there is at least one show everyone is excited to see.

 

At this point I fully expect to be locked into blogging Natsume and Boku no Hero. I’ve enjoyed the previous season(s) for both those franchises and it would be hard to ignore them this time around. But as always decisions will be made once the shows actually air.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.
  • Flower

    Interesting to see that we have a fair number of cross over series in our previews for the coming season, even if we arrange them differently according to personal tastes and impressions and such.

    Regarding Sword Oratoria … I follow the manga adaptation, and while I don’t feel it is as strong relationally as Railgun is to index, I still feel it is a good spin off. For me it was a combo of interesting illustrations of “the other side” of Bell and Aiz’s interactions (which in that way made DanMachi all the more richer) and some more interesting “fleshing out” of the Loki famillia members. All in all I felt it has been pretty good in enriching the world setting. Whether the anime does an equally effective job is another issue, but I have some hope that it will at the very least do a decent and worthwhile work, and possibly better.

    Eromanga-sensei is … another thing. I read some of the early chapters of the manga, and … I dunno. Well, who knows – it may work out well. At the very least ClariS will do the OP, so that is something fans of their singing can anticipate. ^^

    Shuumatsu Nani and Re:Creators really seem to be wildcards for the season that have dim sleeper vibes to them – am curious to see how those will work out….

    • FlareKnight

      Honestly that description of Oratoria….still sounds like a Railgun relationship. Showing off the other side of the interactions between the respective leads of their stories and fleshing out the spinoff lead’s social circle more than the original franchise had the time to do.

      Always interesting to see the crossovers.

  • GreyLurker

    Love Tyrant is a fun little series with some interesting twists in it. I think you’ll get a real kick out of it.

  • Mentar

    Gee, I’m really late to the party. Sorry for that.

    Flareknight: Knowing your overall taste in anime, I would give you a careful recommendation for “Roku de Nashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Record”. Think of it as a cross between Great Teacher Onizuka and Trinity Seven. The story and PVs look like forgettable Magic Academy Harem standard, but the show soon distinguishes itself with excellent characters and a solid, fairly serious backstory. I think you might end up liking it. I recommend to give it the 3-episode treatment.