Even though Summer wasn’t heavily packed with favorites for me, it did turn out pretty well all things considered. That being said, Fall looks to be an absolutely packed season in terms of quantity and quality. That is usually the case for this season anyways. But all the more so this year where so many shows were pushed back to Fall and Winter due to the situation we’re facing right now. Of course I’m sure some shows just pushed themselves right into 2021 to avoid getting lost in the shuffle of a packed Fall season, but that’s fine. For me anyways this coming season looks like a pretty easy one to get invested in. A lot of shows that I’m at least curious about with a few that I’m hoping will be top 10 quality.

Not to say I won’t miss the Summer season. With it comes the end of the third season of Railgun. While not as strong as Season 2 it was still very eventful for the main cast and Mikoto’s character. The Misfit of Demon King Academy was a surprising but extremely enjoyable show as well. So having them end is a bit sad. Though at least they were shows that absolutely lived up to my hopes. It’s not really the end for this season of Re:Zero, but rather a wait until the second part of this split cour arrives. For now though there is plenty of good shows to look forward to and hopefully a few good surprises along the way.

As always the preview will be referring to information listed on LiveChart and AniChart. This certainly won’t be a comprehensive preview of what is coming up. It will just be a list of the shows I’m interested in. As always everyone can feel free to talk about the shows they are hyped about even if I don’t mention them here. And there will definitely be shows I don’t know that much about their source material so any discussion on what can be expected there (minus spoilers) sounds good to me.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. Odds are that is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. If these don’t turn out to be good that will be rather disappointing.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka? Bloom

  • Air Date: 10 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Encourage Films
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Yes

The third season of Gochuumon wa Usagi desu ka? Cocoa is a positive and energetic girl who becomes friends with anyone in just three seconds. After moving in with the Kafuu family in order to attend high school away from home, she immediately befriends the shy and precocious granddaughter of Rabbit House cafe's founder, Chino Kafuu, who is often seen with the talking rabbit, Tippy, on her head.

This has easily been one of my most anticipated shows of the year. I simply expect this show to be downright awesome and if it isn’t in my top 5 of the year by the end of it then I’d be surprised. I’m looking forward to seeing the friendships of the main cast continue to develop as time passes. There is a small concern with the animation studio shifting to Encourage Films.

But, the preview looked fairly good. It appears they are trying to keep the style and character designs as accurate as possible so it should be fine. This is just a really good franchise with very likable characters. It may be cute girls doing cute things, but it is also very funny. Throw in some heartwarming moments at the right time and you’ve got a show. Almost certain to cover this one.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (2020)

  • Air Date: 1 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Passione
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

New kid Keiichi Maebara is settling into his new home of peaceful Hinamizawa village. Making quick friends with the girls from his school, he’s arrived in time for the big festival of the year. But something about this isolated town seems ‘off,’ and his feelings of dread continue to grow. With a gnawing fear that he’s right, what dark secrets could this small community be hiding?

Of course I’m going to put Higurashi in this preview. Now I will say that I’m not sure the series needed a remake. Yes, Deen had some…Deen moments in the first season. But, I thought the show looked pretty fantastic through Kai and did a solid job telling the story. I’m sure looking back there are adaptation choices that didn’t quite work. So maybe a remake will do that justice.

But, honestly all I’m considering this is a great chance to rewatch one of my top anime of all time. I honestly don’t even like horror most of the time in most types of media. But the core of the story for this franchise was so good that it kept me watching even through the parts that had me uneasy. So I’ll most definitely be watching and hoping they do it justice.

Strike Witches: Road to Berlin

  • Air Date: 7 Oct 2020
  • Studio: David Production
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

A new Strike Witches anime was announced as a part of the franchise's 10th anniversary. In the year 1939, humanity was on the verge of destruction. Equipped with weapons of devastating power, a mysterious alien race, known as the Neuroi, began an invasion of the Earth, ravaging the planet, obliterating countries, and vanquishing human armies. To counter this seemingly unstoppable force, the world's powers united. A new device was produced, called the Striker Unit.

It feels good to have the Strike Witches back. Of course I did honestly really enjoy the Brave Witches series we got back in…2016. So it has been a while. All the more so since we haven’t seen this cast in a long time. Nice to see the story continuing with presumably from the title…the road to retaking Berlin. They started off with defending England, then saving France, and expanding their reach further into Europe. Now the war against the Neuroi advances further. Odds are pretty good that the action will be well done since David Production is handling it. We’re back to seeing Yoshika taking to the skies along with Sanya and the rest XD. If they can balance the comedy and the action then we’ve got a great show here.

Kimi to Boku no Saigo no Senjou

  • Air Date: 7 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

"The Empire" is a mechanized utopia with highly developed science and technology. "The Nebulis Sovereignty" is a nation feared as the "Land of the Witches" whose people use paranormal power. The two countries have been constantly at war for more than one hundred years, but now two heroes have appeared in their respective lands. Iska has come to be recognized as the greatest military asset of the Empire at the youngest age in its history. Aliceliese is the Princess of the Nebulis Sovereignty...

I think in general I’m always interested in seeing if this kind of Romeo and Juliet storyline can turn into a great anime. It’s a classic setup with two people caught on opposite sides of a conflict. Both extremely important to their respective faction and yet drawn to someone who is technically an enemy. Silver Link has been doing some pretty good work over the past few years so I expect this to be well done on a technical level. The only question is whether the main characters will be engaging. The previews looked good and the premise seems solid. If the show itself can pull it all together I’ll be pretty happy.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise.

100-man no Inochi no Ue ni Ore wa Tatte Iru

  • Air Date: 2 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Maho Film
  • Episodes: 12
  • Blogging? No

Ninth grader Yusuke Yotsuya is practical, friendless, and not active in any clubs. Then one day, he and two female classmates are suddenly sent to another world where they must work together to battle for their lives. Yotsuya is a lone wolf and has always lived his life according to his wants, but how will that work out now that he’s supposed to be a hero?!

I wasn’t really sure how interested I’d be in this until seeing the preview videos. The setup sounds honestly like a good little isekai situation. Though a bit varied since these characters have been brought into this dangerous situation in a group and are taking actions to protect themselves and their world from a massive threat. The preview though had a touch of silliness but a pretty serious tone. It feels like these characters are going to go through a pretty intense journey with their lives on the line. If they fail, they die, and so will their hometown. Even with a main character who doesn’t sound like he loves his home town…that’s a heavy weight to carry. This could legitimately be a great ride.

Hanyo no Yashahime

  • Air Date: 3 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Sunrise
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The daughters of Sesshomaru and Inuyasha set out on a journey transcending time! In Feudal Japan, Half-Demon twins Towa and Setsuna are separated from each other during a forest fire. While desperately searching for her younger sister, Towa wanders into a mysterious tunnel that sends her into present-day Japan, where she is found and raised by Kagome Higurashi’s brother, Sota...Ten years later, the tunnel that connects the two eras has reopened, allowing Towa to be reunited with Setsuna...

This show could either be a total hit…or not so much. It’s a tough one when you are trying to make a sequel to a classic. And Inuyasha is most definitely a classic. I could go on for a while why Inuyasha worked so well and remains one of the first shows I really got invested in. But, that is a tough act to follow. We’ve seen franchises like Naruto try to just continue on with next generation.

It’s tough to distance yourself from the original enough to let the new characters stand on their own while also avoiding people wishing to have more of the old characters who they already have an emotional connection with. It’s an odd setup just having the daughters of Inuysasha and Sesshomaru go on a journey. I’ll check it out. But I’m a bit uneasy about whether this will be a hit or miss.

Assault Lily: Bouquet

  • Air Date: 1 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Shaft
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

On Earth in the near future, humanity faced imminent destruction from mysterious giant creatures known as "Huge." The entire world unites against the Huge, and successfully develops weaponry known as "CHARM" (Counter Huge Arms) by combining science and magic. CHARM exhibits high rates of synchronization with teenaged girls, and the girls who use CHARM are viewed as heroes called "Lilies." Throughout the world, "Garden" military academies are established to train Lilies to face the Huge...

Honestly sounds like a fun action series to keep an eye on. A classic setup where there’s a great threat, the only hope is teen girls with special abilities, and off you go. Can toss in the whole magical school angle and you’ve got at least the possibility for a decent show. The action seemed solid from the previews and the cast can be as sizable as they want. Shaft should be able to handle it. Not sure how high the ceiling is for this show, but the floor seems to be at a safe spot to have something I’ll enjoy.

Tonikaku Kawaii

  • Air Date: 2 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Seven Arcs
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Nasa Yuzaki falls in love at first sight after an encounter with the mysterious Tsukasa. When Nasa earnestly confesses his feelings, she replies, "I'll date you, but only if we're married." Nasa and Tsukasa's cute and precious newlywed life of love is about to begin!

This seems like a really fun and relaxing show from first glance. Not often do you get romantic comedies starting from the premise that the characters are in a relationship much less married. Even though obviously these characters don’t have a long history together based on that premise. It could be a pretty good time though in seeing them build up that relationship. If nothing else the visuals look nice and Seven Arcs seems up for this. If nothing else I’m curious to see the motivations for the girl who is at the core of this setup happening. Just why was she only interested in being in a relationship if she skipped straight to marriage? No idea, but will probably find out when the show airs.

Dragon Quest: Dai no Daibouken (2020)

  • Air Date: 2 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Toei Animation
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

A long time ago, there was a valiant swordsman who came to be known simply as "the hero." There was a demon who has caused people suffering. The hero and his companions arrived to challenge the demon to a battle and by combining their powers, the battle was brought swift conclusion. With no one around to cause trouble, the island became a quiet place where everyone could live together in peace. Several years later, the demon is revived. Our present-day protagonist, Dai, lives on a remote island.

I really don’t know much about this one. But, I have enjoyed a few games in the Dragon Quest series. So in that sense I’m at least curious to see how this turns out. Bring on a good old fantasy series with an ancient evil, a new generation of heroes, and a journey to save the world. Even got the classic case of the hero having secret powers that kick into gear when he’s in need. It could be just ok and Toei can be hit or miss with things. But, I am definitely interested to at least give it a look.

DanMachi S3

  • Air Date: 2 Oct 2020
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Third season of Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka. It is business as usual in the massive city of Orario, where legions of adventurers gather to explore the monster-infested "Dungeon." Among them is the easily flustered yet brave Bell Cranel, the sole member of the Hestia Familia. With the help of his demi-human supporter Liliruca Arde and competent blacksmith Welf Crozzo, Bell has earned the title of Little Rookie by becoming Orario's fastest-growing adventurer...

This might not have been where I would have put the show after the first season kind of lost me. But, the second season for this franchise was a legitimate bounce back at least in terms of my interest levels. With that in mind I’m actually kind of interested in seeing where Bell, Hestia, and the rest of the main cast go in a third season. The preview paints a picture, but there’s no telling how long that arc will be or what the rest of the season might end up focusing on. It isn’t a flawless franchise, but I’ve got a lot more excitement about it compared to where I was going into the second season. This should be at the very least a good bit of fun.

Kamisama ni Natta hi

  • Air Date: 10 Oct 2020
  • Studio: P.A. Works
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

One day during Youta Narukami's last summer vacation of high school, a girl named Hina suddenly appears and proclaims herself "the All-Knowing God." Hina announces to the thoroughly confused Youta, "The world will end in 30 days." Youta then witnesses Hina's god-like powers of prophecy, convincing him that her powers are real. Hina's naive innocence belies her powers, and she decides to live at Youta's home for some reason. Thus begins an eventful summer before the end of the world.

Oh boy. We’ve got a Key anime produced by P.A. Works. I expect drama, comedy, laughs, and utter tragedy. This is basically the next kick at the can after Angel Beats and Charlotte. The former was pretty good until I thought it utterly careened off a cliff and Charlotte was also kind of a mixed bag. Both were still really good looking shows though and had some great elements to them. For that reason I’m both interested and a bit apprehensive about this. The setting is kind of heavy though. A girl god appears before the main character…and pronounces that the world will end in 30 days. That’s…problematic. I guess we’ll see if there’s some way to avoid that fate or if the entire cast will be dead by the end of it.

Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear

  • Air Date: 7 Oct 2020
  • Studio: EMT²
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Fifteen-year-old Yuna prefers staying home and obsessively playing her favorite VRMMO game to doing anything else, including going to school. When a strange new update gives her a one-of-a-kind bear outfit that comes with overpowered abilities, Yuna is torn: the outfit is unbearably cute, but too embarrassing to wear in-game. But then she suddenly finds herself transported into the world of the game, facing down monsters and magic for real, and the bear suit becomes the best weapon she has!

So, this could either be truly hilarious or a total miss. Another case of someone being thrown into the world of a game. Not sure if it’s an isekai that happens to resemble the game or if she’s literally been thrown into a game world. But regardless the main character is stuck there and has to arm herself with…an OP bear suit. Again, that could either be brilliantly funny or a total miss. I suppose if I was stuck in a world like that then I’d absolutely ensure my survival using that embarrassing bear suit. Pride doesn’t do you much good if you are dead after all. The previews seemed fairly decent. But will just have to wait and see how the show itself turns out.

One Room Third Season

  • Air Date: 5 Oct 2020
  • Studio: Zero-G
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Third season of One Room. Three stories, although seemingly unrelated, contain the same essence: strings of fate will bind together those who share the same destiny, and one needs to look no further than a single apartment room.

This is absolutely the biggest guilty pleasure I’ve got for the coming season. Just a silly short, but one that surprisingly worked for me in this format. It’s a pretty straight forward setup. The past couple seasons have been three separate, three episode mini-arcs with effectively a silent protagonist shown from the first person perspective. Different protagonists for each arc along with different main girls they interact with. Just simple stories told over effectively half an episode’s worth of length.

Of course the interesting twist this time is the numbers. Three of the main girls will be from previous seasons so they can continue those stories. And two new characters will be added to the mix. Not sure what this means for episode count. It’s not overly deep, but a nice silly show that I’ll likely enjoy.

Conclusion

Fall honestly is looking pretty fantastic this year. There’s a ton of shows I’m extremely hyped for and a lot of ones that are just behind that tier. If a few surprises can turn up then I could be swamped with things to watch this season. Of course having these shows live up to those expectations will be critical since there isn’t that much carrying over into Fall. There are the long-running shows like Digimon, Healin’ Good, One Piece, etc. But, like a lot of years the slate will be pretty well wiped clean going into a big season like Fall.

But, I’m feeling pretty confident right now. If half of the shows I’m really hyped for turn out to be good then I’m set for shows I can cover and ones to simply watch. I’m really hoping of course that the top end shows that I’m excited for live up to that. And this is a season that is full of nostalgia. We’ve got Higurashi coming back and a sequel to Inuyasha. Beyond that there’s more Strike Witches, GochUsa, and a whole lot more. This year has been crazy in a lot of ways. But a very strong Fall would do wonders to just relaxing and enjoying anime. Would love to hear what shows others are excited to see. Here’s hoping Fall is just packed with shows for everyone to enjoy.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About


Warning: Use of undefined constant user_description - assumed 'user_description' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/animeevo/public_html/wp-content/themes/aev5theme/single-preview.php on line 138
An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.