This is both a season I’m excited about and one that leaves me a bit melancholy. Summer had some excellent shows and I’m as much feeling down about missing those shows as I am excited about what we’ve got coming down in Fall. There will be no doubt some of my favorite shows of the entire year debuting this season. We are almost certain to get the top seasons of the year back to back. Winter and Spring weren’t terrible seasons, but Summer and Fall are utterly bringing it when it comes to hype worthy series. It will be a tough season in the sense that I can’t possibly cover more than a fraction of the shows I’d probably enjoy talking about for an entire season.

This preview will of course just be my personal thoughts. It won’t cover every show that is coming out, but rather just the ones that caught my eye enough that I’ve got something to say about them. With this preview we’ve all got a chance to sort our thoughts about the coming season and see just what is coming our way. This will be a bit shorter of a preview compared to previous seasons. That isn’t implying that Fall isn’t exciting. But rather it just reflects my personal life and how much time I had available to break down what is coming.

As always will rely on LiveChart and AniChart for summaries and determining what we’re actually going to get a chance to watch.

Series of High Interest

These are the shows I’m the most hyped to see. Odds are that is either because I’m familiar enough with a previous season/source material or just because the previews and summaries look really good. If these don’t turn out to be good that will be rather disappointing.

Boku no Hero Academia 4th Season

  • Air Date: 12 Oct 2019
  • Studio: Bones
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Yes

Season 4 - One day, a four-year-old boy came to a sudden realization: the world is not fair. Eighty percent of the world's population wield special abilities, known as "quirks," which have given many the power to make their childhood dreams of becoming a superhero a reality. Unfortunately, Izuku Midoriya was one of the few born without a quirk, suffering from discrimination because of it. Yet, he refuses to give up on his dream of becoming a hero...

What needs to be said at this point? This is just a big series that people basically already know how they feel before a new season comes out. For me this is a franchise that I truly enjoy. Where it ranks all time is a harder thing to nail down, but it hasn’t let me down yet. And I legitimately don’t know where the story is going next. But I’m excited to see it unfold. The previous season was a big one in terms of changing the status quo of that entire setting. This is just an easy show to put at the start of this preview. The odds are good I’ll cover it, but no matter what I’ll enjoy watching Deku’s journey continue.

Nanatsu no Taizai: Kamigami no Gekirin

  • Air Date: 9 Oct 2019
  • Studio: Studio Deen
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

The "Seven Deadly Sins," a group of evil knights who conspired to overthrow the kingdom of Britannia, were said to have been eradicated by the Holy Knights, although some claim that they still live. Ten years later, the Holy Knights have staged a Coup d'état and captured the king, becoming the new, tyrannical rulers of the kingdom. Elizabeth, the king's third daughter, sets out on a journey to find the "Seven Deadly Sins," and to enlist their help in taking back the kingdom.

This is one that brings both excitement and some trepidation. I’m excited to see the next stage of the journey in the Taizai franchise. But we are also switching up studios from A-1 to Deen. But the trailers at least have looked good and it doesn’t seem like the art style is going to go through a radical shift. But no matter what I’m glad to have more of this franchise. It is a series with flaws and sometimes I think the creator Nakaba didn’t quite plan everything out for the story. But it is fun, the characters are great, and I’m hyped to see how this turns out. The manga is steadily moving towards a conclusion as well. Not sure we’ll see a finale in this coming season, but we may be moving one step closer to the end of this franchise in anime and manga form.

Fate/Grand Order: Zettai Majuu Sensen Babylonia

  • Air Date: 5 Oct 2019
  • Studio: CloverWorks
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

An adaptation of the Seventh Holy Grail War, The Absolute Frontline in the War Against the Demonic Beasts Babylonia Singularity of Fate/Grand Order...Fujimaru and Mash, the pair who have raced through six previous Singularities, embark on their final battle.

Considering I already covered episode 0 it should be obvious that I’m looking forward to this. Overall I’ve really enjoyed the Fate franchise. The various incarnations from main series to spinoffs have all brought their own pros and cons. It is a universe that allows for some amazingly over the top action and some solid stories. This is one of the more tricky versions to discuss because it is adapting a major story arc from the FGO mobile game. Not that the game is lacking in story because that is one of the best qualities of it. But we are jumping into an arc that isn’t exactly at the beginning. Episode 0 showed them trying to tackle the challenges of adapting a middle kind of chapter in an ongoing story. The visuals look good and I know the story will hold up. I’m ready to see this.

Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld

  • Air Date: 12 Oct 2019
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Episodes: 24
  • Blogging? No

Second part of Sword Art Online: Alicization. - The Soul Translator is a state-of-the-art full-dive interface which interacts with the user's Fluctlight—the technological equivalent of a human soul—and fundamentally differs from the orthodox method of sending signals to the brain. The private institute Rath aims to perfect their creation by enlisting the aid of Sword Art Online survivor Kazuto Kirigaya...

I’m really quite happy that I’m putting this show within this tier. Sword Art Online has had some real ups and downs for me. I don’t think it is nearly so bad as some think. But I do think some seasons haven’t quite been great and haven’t quite done enough with the main character. Kirito is the kind of guy that can really be fun to watch or easy to get frustrated by.

This past season really took him into a fresh setting with a lot of new characters that didn’t have to fit into the harem that he’s bizarrely picked up over time. But at the same time this part two does seem to imply that one major character in Asuna will actually do something. I’m interested in seeing how things play out in this setting where there are some legitimate stakes to take in. The action should be good, the music should be too and I’ll certainly follow it.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now to the shows I’m somewhat excited for. While not as excited about these as the category above, I’m still pretty interested in watching these. Some have intriguing premises that if done right could make for great shows. While some have source materials that I’m sort of familiar with, but not extremely interested in. Some of these could easily turn into my favorites. That uncertainty factor can turn into a positive surprise.

Assassins Pride

  • Air Date: 10 Oct 2019
  • Studio: EMT²
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

In the world where only the aristocrats have the power to fight the monster - mana, a youth named Kufa is dispatched as a tutor to find Mareida's talent, a nuisance girl born in a duke's family. If she is not talented, assassinate her. - that, is the dark side of his task...

I appreciate just pure fantasy series. Not that the isekai boom hasn’t had some great moments. But I do appreciate just diving into these worlds without having to deal with a protagonist that is coming into it from regular Earth. The previews have mostly sold me on it. You have an underdog in Melida who has a pretty serious situation to overcome. If she can’t toughen up enough…her own tutor is set to kill her. Now she’s probably not aware of this to start, but from the previews she isn’t having an easy time. Her growth could be really enjoyable to watch. Of course a big part will be the tutor Kufa. The feelings he should develop over time will be important as well as balancing that part of his job is to kill her if she can’t grow strong enough. I’m looking forward to checking it out.

Azur Lane

  • Air Date: 3 Oct 2019
  • Studio: Bibury Animation Studios
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Grotesque, strong enemy called Siren has suddenly appeared from the sea. In order to fight against them, a group of army Azure Lane has formed. They were successful in stopping the attack from Siren for a moment using warships, the different ideals from the people who formed it has shown. The story is about girls fight the strong enemies that they never face while dealing with the trouble in each camp.

Here’s another mobile game getting a chance at anime glory. The concept of ship girls isn’t exactly a new one. We even had a Kantai Collection anime back in 2015. While I didn’t dislike that one, I do hope this has a slightly stronger overall story. It is a bit more uncertain how this will turn out since it is being handled by a new studio. But the previews looked nice and that’s a good start. And I kind of like the idea of seeing a fun war on water between this ship girls and the evil force they will undoubtedly be set against. There isn’t so much to work from in terms of the previews and the summary. But the concept sounds pretty fun and the variety of characters should be nice. Hopefully they can balance what should be a sizable cast.

Granblue Fantasy The Animation Season 2

  • Air Date: 4 Oct 2019
  • Studio: MAPPA
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The boy, who looked up to the skies and aimed for the Island of Stars, has linked his fate and life with the mysterious blue-haired girl who fell from the skies. What the boy and girl encountered on their journey were companions they could count on and then an airship heading to their destination. The two deepened their bonds and came of age while evading the pursuing empire and encountering the Primal Beasts. However, their path to the Island of Stars is but half complete.

If there was an award for “shows I didn’t expect a season 2 from” this might win it for Fall 2019. I enjoyed the first Granblue series. Yet another mobile game anime, but one I had zero knowledge about. But it was a fun and cute fantasy series. The main character growing closer to Lyria over time and the cast overall was solid. It was very much just a first step kind of show. The adventure was beginning but only just. So in that sense I am happy that we’re continuing into a second season. It may not be one of the top shows of the season. But it should be an enjoyable ride and I’m curious to see where the story ends up going. This is also another case where the studio is being switched up, but I’m willing to see what Mappa can do here.

Hataage! Kemono Michi

  • Air Date: 2 Oct 2019
  • Studio: ENGI
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Professional wrestler and animal lover Shibata Genzo is suddenly summoned to another world. Greeted by a princess, she requests to get rid of the evil beasts roaming in this world. Outraged that he was asked to kill monsters, Genzo German suplexes the princess. Unable back to get back to Earth, he decides to live a peaceful life and manage a "monster" pet shop.

This is an isekai that I hope works just because the premise is so hilariously ridiculous. You have this pro wrestler brought to a fantasy world and he takes on what threats he faces by suplexing them into the ground! And he starts off by suplexing a princess because he finds her demands outrageous. Throw in the idea of this kind of guy running a monster pet shop and the possibilities seem worth exploring. This might not be any good or maybe the comedy won’t hit. But I am hoping that it will be a great source of laughs. And if it manages to slip in some likable characters that’s a big win. I just don’t know enough from a couple trailers to say for sure and this is mostly just working off the basic concept.

Beastars

  • Air Date: 9 Oct 2019
  • Studio: Orange
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

In a world populated by anthropomorphic animals, herbivores and carnivores coexist with each other. For the adolescences of Cherryton Academy, school life is filled with hope, romance, distrust, and uneasiness. The main character is Regoshi the wolf, a member of the drama club. Despite his menacing appearance, he has a very gentle heart. Throughout most of his life, he has always been an object of fear and hatred by other animals, and he's been quite accustomed to that lifestyle..

This is another pick that is mostly reputation based. The summary isn’t a bad one. You have the good guy that isn’t trusted based on his appearance. Of course in this case it isn’t just appearance but based on his species. I find this amusing in some ways since I can’t imagine he’s the only one being a species that was a predator. But the setup has plenty of room for drama and good character moments. Regoshi will learn more about others, they’ll learn about him, and he’ll likely help resolve issues others are dealing with. Another thing that may be hit or miss is that the cast are all anthropomorphic animals. That may be a bit too weird for some. Not that we haven’t seen that in other shows, but rarely is it for the whole cast. I’m hopeful this one will impress. But I’m not sure going in.

Conclusion

I’m going to start this conclusion by saying that I’m going to miss having Summer around. Symphogear XV especially has been a truly great experience and my favorite show of the year. It is tough to lose that kind of show. We’re also losing enjoyable sci-fi like Kanata no Astra or cute shows like Machikado Mazoku. But that’s the case for any season. Good shows end. That’s just the way of it. On the positive side, we are getting a decent amount of carryovers with Dr. Stone, Enen no Shouboutai, Vinland Saga, etc. With Fall already looking pretty strong it is amazing to have so many enjoyable shows already in full swing.

This season at least works pretty nicely for me. It has genres and settings that I personally enjoy. We’ve got a pretty nice amount of fantasy shows and sequels from shows I already enjoyed previously. The top end is really strong and it isn’t an exaggeration of my hype to have this many shows in the highest tier of anticipation. And there’s no doubt that I’ve been waiting all year for another season of Boku no Hero or the adaptation of the Babylonia story with FGO. Even though I honestly am going to miss some of the Summer shows ending, I am excited to see how Fall turns out. Unlike Spring, I really do think that Fall has everything under control. 2019 has been very hit or miss when it comes to anime seasons. But we may be getting back to back hits.

I hope this season is looking as good for others as it is for me. And feel free to talk about the shows you are excited about that I didn’t even mention. I’ll admit this preview was a bit shorter than previous ones since I didn’t mention the shows that I have casual interest in seeing. But, I did want to at least talk about Fall since it does look pretty strong. Let’s hope in a few months I will have loved what Fall gave us.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.