Time moves forward without a pause. Summer is just about over and we’re moving onward to the Fall Season. This season is a bit odd for me since there aren’t many shows that I’m that familiar with. Most of these are adaptations of things I never read, original shows, or even sequels to things I never watched. That isn’t a bad thing since you can get a lot of surprises. But it does make things a bit tricky in terms of the personal hype levels. There is a lot more “fingers crossed that this will be good” than being certain the shows will be good.

This past season was pretty interesting. I wasn’t sure about much outside of my top picks, but as a whole it was quite fun. Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ was a total win and a great bounce back for the franchise after a pretty mixed bag last time. Fate/Apocrypha will be continuing into the Fall Season and has been pretty enjoyable so far. Though a lot of my more moderately anticipated series from the last preview didn’t quite match up to my expectations. A lot of the big surprises for me though were caught with my more mild interest section. Princess Principal has been a very stylish and enjoyable sort of spy series. Isekai Shokudou was a really fun show that you could just sit back and enjoy. It wasn’t a season with a massive amount of shows that I was hyped for, but it did pretty well.

As always you can find the lists for this season and summaries I’ll be referencing from Livechart or Anichart. This season is one that I’m really curious to see how it plays out. In terms of shows I know things about and want to see badly….this season is low on those. The upcoming Winter Season is more in my ballpark even at this early stage. But, this season does have a lot of shows to consider. Fall and Spring generally bring a ton of shows to the table and there are always going to be a few really enjoyable ones. If nothing else that made this preview fun to think about.

Series of High Interest

The only place to start is with the shows I’ve got the highest expectations for. They are either the shows I really hope will be good or I simply expect to be good.

Just Because!

  • Air Date: 5 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Pine Jam
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Just Because! focuses on subtly portraying the feelings of a group of high school students nearing graduation. Near the end of second semester at third year, when students have very little time in high school left, and are just waiting for graduation, the appearance of a new transfer student begins to change what remains of their high school lives just as they were about to graduate.

Something about this one has me interested to see it. I definitely get the feeling we’ll be in for a fair amount of emotional relationship drama with this show. The summary has me interested in seeing how things will play out. That this one old friend suddenly comes back at a pretty unusual time and sets off the main cast to the races.

The whole show will be under a kind of time crunch with the main cast being close to high school graduation. But suddenly they’ll be forced to confront things they never thought they would. The setup, visuals, and tone just makes this feel like a show to watch. While the studio doesn’t have a huge library of previous shows…but I did mostly enjoy ‘Gamers!’ this season.

Mahoutsukai no Yome

  • Air Date: 8 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Wit Studio
  • Episodes: 24
  • Blogging? No

Chise Hatori has lived a life full of neglect and abuse, devoid of anything resembling love. Far from the warmth of family, she has had her share of troubles and pitfalls. Just when all hope seems lost, a fateful encounter awaits her. When a man with the head of a beast, wielding strange powers, obtains her through a slave auction, Chise's life will never be the same again.

This show seems to have a lot going for it. A nice mix of magic and fantasy, some great visuals, and a good overall feel to it. The trailers look really good. Though that isn’t a huge surprise since Wit Studio can do nice work in that respect. A show that appears to be a 2-cour series so it will have plenty of time to make an impact. The setup has a lot of emotional impact to it with what Chise has gone through and the potential path ahead of her. It looks like a good show and could be one with a nice story to tell.

Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau

  • Air Date: 8 Oct 2017
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? Maybe

Chakuro is the 14-year-old archivist of the Mud Whale, a nigh-utopian island that floats across the surface of an endless sea of sand. Nine in ten of the inhabitants of the Mud Whale have been blessed and cursed with the ability to use saimia, special powers that doom them to an early death. One day, Chakuro visits an island as large as the Mud Whale and meets a girl who will change his destiny.

It seems like we’re in a good place for fantasy shows in general right now. Kujira looks to be a pretty good fantasy series. The trailers have stood out since the first ones dropped months ago. You have this world of sand, kids with special abilities, moving islands that float on the sand, and presumably some good action/drama mixed in there. This is a show that visually stands out and will explore what should be a pretty unique world for this season. I’ve got a really good feeling that this show could be one of the best of the season.

Digimon Adventure tri. 5: Kyousei

  • Air Date: 30 Sep 2017
  • Studio: Toei Animation
  • Episodes: 1
  • Blogging? Yes

Fifth Digimon Adventure tri film

At this point I’m pretty locked in with these Digimon movies. I’ve got to see how this kind of third season for the original Digimon series plays out. Things are moving along pretty well in the story and some secrets have been revealed. The main cast still have the whole memory loss issue going on with their digimon partners, but they’ve regained the ability to unleash hell anyways. It does seem like this movie will focus a bit more on Kari which I’m good with. The unique nature of Kari and her connection to the greater powers in the digital world has always been an interesting thing and they can really explore it here.

These movies haven’t been perfect. There are things I could nitpick regarding how they’ve kind of stumbled around the Season 2 cast and other things. But I’m still really excited to see this ‘movie’ or really the next bunch of episodes for this season. We’re closing in on the goal here.

Series of Moderate Interest

Now we get into the shows that could really go in different directions. There have been times when some of my favorite shows in a season come from this group. These are shows I’m just not as confident about, but I’m still fairly interested in. They are the shows I either don’t know anything about or those I didn’t have a ton of interest in the source material.

Black Clover

  • Air Date: 3 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Studio Pierrot
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

While Yuno is gifted with exceptional magical powers, Asta is the only one in this world without any. At the age of fifteen, both receive grimoires, magic books that amplify their holder’s magic. Asta’s is a rare Grimoire of Anti-Magic that negates and repels his opponent’s spells. Being opposite but good rivals, Yuno and Asta are ready for the hardest of challenges to achieve their common dream: to be the Wizard King. Giving up is never an option!

This looks to be a solid if not exceptional action series. I swear if the main character’s catchphrase is going to be “not giving up is my magic” I’m going to chuckle and continue comparing him to Little Witch Academia’s Akko with her line “a believing heart is my magic.” No rational reason, but I just can’t help but smile at it. This show seems to have a good base with the two rivals being nice extremes. The guy who can use all sorts of magic and the one who can really only use anti-magic. It may be nothing crazy good, but I’m looking forward to it.

Two Car

  • Air Date: 8 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The main characters are Yuri Miyata and Megumi Meguro. Yuri is the girlish, cool-headed, and slender driver who works the accelerator and brake, and whose household runs a guesthouse. Megumi is the boyish, impulsive, and glamorous passenger who uses acrobatic skills and body weight to handle the corner work, and whose household runs an inn. The team will fight other motorcycle sidecar teams from all over Japan, each with their own opposing traits.

It is always nice to have a few original series that look interesting in a season. I wouldn’t say racing series are ones I inherently gravitate towards, but this one looks good. Visually it seems like Silver Link is on their game and will be doing a nice job with this. And there should be plenty of potential for interesting racing duos. Whether the characters are interesting or just straight forward stereotypes we’ll have to wait and see. Honestly sidecar racing isn’t something I’d even heard of before this show. So I’m curious to check it out. It can be interesting delving into a new sport or competition via an anime series.

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru: Yuusha no Shou

  • Air Date: 7 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Studio Gokumi
  • Episodes: 12
  • Blogging? No

Sequel of Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru.

Ah, the return of the magical girl series that falls into the genre of “oh god the horrible agony….suffering is everywhere” type. Ok, it wasn’t all that…but the first season of this show hit the drama train hard at a certain point. It was a strong emotional series and definitely a ride at times. Half of this show is basically covering the movies that came out recently (that I haven’t seen) and are basically a prequel for the first season. There will be focus on Mimori and her friends who were active as ‘heroes’ before the cast we know got started. That half is definitely going to end in horrible drama and agony as we know…

The second half will be more purely a second season for the show. It will take off from where the story left off at the end of the first season. The old hero system has been shut down since…you know it basically almost lead to the apocalypse. Who would have guessed that someone being tortured and losing bodily functions might snap and want to just end all the suffering? Clearly not the god like entity who set up that stupid hero system…but obviously the situation isn’t resolved. So I’m curious what they can do with 6 episodes on that front.

Series of Mild Interest

So we’ve arrived at the shows that I’m just interested enough in to have something to say. Good shows and ones I really like sometimes come out of this section. Some of the best of previous seasons have come out of here. I just don’t know enough about these shows or don’t see enough from the previews to be excited yet. All this means is that I don’t have many expectations for these shows and they will have to surprise me.

UQ Holder! Mahou Sensei Negima! 2

  • Air Date: 3 Oct 2017
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

In the decade since the world became aware of the existence of magic, the world has undergone massive upheaval. However, a boy named Touta lives in seclusion in a rural town far removed from these changes. His ordinary life is highlighted by his magic-using female teacher and his supportive friends. When his tranquil daily life is disrupted, he embarks on a unique adventure.

Just the nostalgia of what Negima material I’ve seen and read in the past has me curious for this. I’m nowhere near an expert on the Negima franchise, but I’m curious to see what UQ Holder has going for it. It seems to mostly be a sequel set well after the time of the original series so…I’m kind of curious how it will play out. How will this new MC present himself? I can’t really comment much on the PVs since…there wasn’t much substance to them XD. But this will be on my radar going into the fall season.

Konohana Kitan

  • Air Date: 4 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Lerche
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

In a village inhabited by youkai, the lives of several fox mononoke working in a hot spring inn. The stories revolve around a new employee, Yuzu. Yuzu had always been living in the mountains, but now has to adjust to a new life working in a high class inn. She is oblivious and clumsy at first, but with her simple cuteness, she is able to get along with all the other foxes.

This could easily be the light show of the season that I can casually sit back and watch. Nothing quite like watching fox girls working at a hot springs in…That sounds pretty relaxing to watch in general. The trailers looked pretty good. And the summary makes the MC sound like a nice enough girl. If the main cast as a whole is pretty likable then this can easily be something I casually watch through the fall season.

Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou

  • Air Date: 6 Oct 2017
  • Studio: White Fox
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

Civilization is dead, but Chito and Yuuri are still alive. So they hop aboard their beloved Kettenkrad motorbike and aimlessly wander the ruins of the world they once knew. Day after hopeless day, they look for their next meal and fuel for their ride. But as long as the two are together, even an existence as bleak as theirs has a ray or two of sunshine in it, whether they're sucking down their fill of soup or hunting for machine parts to tinker with.

Nothing like a pair of girls just riding their way through an apocalyptic world….ok that sounds pretty odd. But, this could be a good show if the main characters are compelling. The visual style is definitely unique which lets it stand out a bit. But the question is how interesting will their adventure be? Definitely sounds like a pretty quiet series with civilization being dead from the first episode.

Love Live! Sunshine!! 2nd Season

  • Air Date: 7 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Sunrise
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

The second season of the Love Live! spinoff series, Love Live! Sunshine!!

I’ll admit the first season of Sunshine didn’t blow me away. It isn’t a problem for me that they wanted to cover a new group of school idols. Expanding the brand and covering new characters is perfectly fine. What I didn’t like was how they spent too much time referencing Muse or retreading too much of the same ground. Guys if you keep talking up the original franchise so much…why am I watching you instead of rewatching that show? I already know they are entertaining! Maybe now that they are in their second season this group can really start to spread their wings.

Boku no Kanojo ga Majimesugiru Sho-bitch na Ken

  • Air Date: 12 Oct 2017
  • Studio: Diomedéa
  • Episodes: TBD
  • Blogging? No

With nothing left to lose, ordinary high school student Haruka Shinozaki confesses to beautiful, diligent class representative Akiho Kousaka and to his surprise she accepts. Kousaka takes dating as seriously as she does everything else, but does not quite get it. She pragmatically suggests activities that are too sexual.

This is a show that could either be pretty good….or just too weird. It looks pretty good and I don’t mind a bit of a comedic romance series. A really serious girl who is just a bit off could be fun to watch in a relationship with the main guy. Now the hook aspect of the show is how she constantly suggests overly sexual activities which shake things up. Honestly it depends on how that aspect of the show plays out. If it isn’t utterly ridiculous or at least is comedic in the right way, then I can probably roll with it. That is just something I’ll have to wait for the show to air in order to be sure about though.

Closing Thoughts

This season has a lot of unusual elements to it. Even though there are shows I’m highly anticipating, I’m not sure which will be great or not XD. Definitely going to watch and blog the next Digimon movie. I’m hyped to see that and where the story will go. And the odds are pretty good I’ll find at least one show in this season to pick up. Some of the more highly anticipated ones have an inside track on that spot, but you never know. This past season some of the best were the ones I wasn’t expecting much from. That’s the fun thing about starting a new anime season. There are a lot of new shows to watch and plenty to be excited about.

This a different feel from a year ago. There isn’t any single show that I’m so hyped about that it would take a disaster to keep me from covering it. But sometimes that just comes down to genres and what source materials are being adapted. You can’t get any new favorites if you don’t see new shows anyways. It does leave me a bit sad to say goodbye to the previous season though. Even though that season didn’t have a huge volume of shows I enjoyed watching, the handful that I stuck and watched to the end were pretty good.

Let’s hope that the Fall Season blows us all away and delivers some of the best shows of the year. This is basically the last season of anime for 2017. While 2018 looks pretty good so far….I’m still wanting to go out on a high note. I’ll still be going on with Fate/Apocrypha this season so that is a bit of a safety net in case I don’t find many shows that I really want to talk about. I just hope this gave everyone a bit to think about, a look at some shows you might see getting blogged this season, and some insight into how the Fall Season is looking. These are hardly the only Fall shows that are coming out, but these are the ones that have my interest so far.

Monthly Sponsor



Advertise on Anime Evo!

Help us pay the bills and work with us to promote your awesome product, service, website, comic or anything else you want to show off. We here at Anime Evo work with our advertising partners to promote products that are actually relevant to our audience, and give you the best bang for your buck!

Current Series

About

An older member at 25, yet a new addition to Anime Evo. Recently graduating University and in the difficult point between school and a true career. Anime being a salvation and blogging a good way to put all those hours of writing essays to some use. Enjoys talking about series, yet not taking on so many that the quality dips. A Canadian who enjoys his anime and hearing what others think about the series he enjoys watching.

Discussion Rules

Comments on Anime Evo are not only welcome, but the thing that we writers look forward to the most. Please, however, bear in mind that there are certain things that you just can't do as it ruins the fun for everyone:

  • No Spoilers of Any kind please. No hints, no discussion of future stuff from the source manga/light novel. Keep the discussion to the current episode's events, and that's it.
  • No personal attacks. Debates/Disagreements are okay, but keep things civil and be nice.
  • No advertising/Links to promote your personal website/article/products. We have a way to advertise on the site if you're interested.
  • GreyLurker

    Black Clover and UQ Holder are two of the ones I’m looking forward too. I think you’ll like Asta, he’s a good natured simple Shonen Protag, and a lot of fun, in the charge ahead and hit it sort of way. Plus the Side characters are great.

    UQ Holder kind of stands on it’s own for a good long while, so you don’t need a huge amount of Negima knowledge at first. I don’t think they will get to the part where it links up with the original series in the first season (or even season 2 really) For the most part UQ holder is about Immortals and an organization called UQ Holders that supports and unites them in a world where magic has become a phone app. The main cast each have their own form of immortality, some of which are quite unique (The UQ stands for Unique Quality, I think)

    • Random Wanderer

      The UQ in UQ Holder is an Anglicization of Yuukyuu, which means “eternity.” It’s all part of their whole living forever angst thing.

      And yes, you can BEGIN UQ Holder without knowing much of the details of how the plot of Negima went, but as you go further and further into the series the two of them grow more intertwined. At the point the UQ Holder manga is now with current releases you NEED to have read through Negima in order to understand what’s happening. Probably won’t be an issue with the anime, though, unless they play shenanigans with the storyline.

    • FlareKnight

      Well I’m glad you can get into the show without that much Negima knowledge. Since yeah….I’ve only got the bare memories left of that franchise. And I’m pretty sure most of it was from the anime. At least sounds like I’ll have time to actually delve into the original franchise more before they really intersect. Though in general I probably should anyways. Glad I can at least start watching the show without feeling like there is required reading for it XD.

      And I’ll be looking forward to Black Clover a bit more now. Good side characters and a solid charge forward shonen protagonist can make for a fun show.